Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 198 | Thanked: 76 times | Joined on Mar 2010
#51
check if /var/lib/apt/lists/ exists and if so, recreate the lock file:

touch /var/lib/apt/lists/lock
 

The Following User Says Thank You to arne.anka For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#52
Originally Posted by arne.anka View Post
check if /var/lib/apt/lists/ exists and if so, recreate the lock file:

touch /var/lib/apt/lists/lock
And also check whether you've run out of rootfs space:
Code:
df -h /
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Rob1n For This Useful Post:
ArchiMark's Avatar
Posts: 414 | Thanked: 109 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Silicon Valley
#53
Originally Posted by arne.anka View Post
check if /var/lib/apt/lists/ exists and if so, recreate the lock file:

touch /var/lib/apt/lists/lock
Thanks for your help, arne....

I checked and there is /var/lib/apt/ existing that has the following inside it:

extended_states
periodic

That's it!

__________________
Mark
Silicon Valley Digerati

Nokia N900
Previous: Nokia N810 & N800
 
ArchiMark's Avatar
Posts: 414 | Thanked: 109 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Silicon Valley
#54
Originally Posted by Rob1n View Post
And also check whether you've run out of rootfs space:
Code:
df -h /
Thanks for your input, Rob1n.....

Here's what I get:

Code:
$ df -h /
Filesystem    Size       Used       Available   Use%   Mounted On
rootfs            227.9M  205.2M   18.4M        92%      /
Is this too little available space and could cause problems?

Should I free up some space?



Thanks!
__________________
Mark
Silicon Valley Digerati

Nokia N900
Previous: Nokia N810 & N800
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#55
Originally Posted by ArchiMark View Post
Thanks for your input, Rob1n.....

Here's what I get:

Code:
$ df -h /
Filesystem    Size       Used       Available   Use%   Mounted On
rootfs            227.9M  205.2M   18.4M        92%      /
Is this too little available space and could cause problems?

Should I free up some space?



Thanks!
That depends on what repositories you have enabled - for the default ones it should be okay, but with extras-testing and extras-devel I suspect it'll be rather low.

Anyway, from your other message, it appears you're missing the /var/lib/apt/lists/ directory, so I'd try just creating that (as root - "mkdir /var/lib/apt/lists") and seeing whether that fixes your issue or not. If it works okay, then just double-check the free rootfs space again after updating. Otherwise you'll most likely need to look into freeing up some space.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Rob1n For This Useful Post:
ArchiMark's Avatar
Posts: 414 | Thanked: 109 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Silicon Valley
#56
Originally Posted by Rob1n View Post
That depends on what repositories you have enabled - for the default ones it should be okay, but with extras-testing and extras-devel I suspect it'll be rather low.
I disabled those 2 last night per reading some other info about this issue....saved a few MB's of space...

Anyway, from your other message, it appears you're missing the /var/lib/apt/lists/ directory, so I'd try just creating that (as root - "mkdir /var/lib/apt/lists") and seeing whether that fixes your issue or not. If it works okay, then just double-check the free rootfs space again after updating. Otherwise you'll most likely need to look into freeing up some space.
I made that directory, but still no go....

Code:
# apt-get update
E: Lists directory /var/lib/apt/lists/partial is missing.
E: Could not get lock /var/lib/dpkg/lock - open (11 Resource temporarily unavailable)
E: Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), is another process using it?
Any other ideas???

Thanks!

__________________
Mark
Silicon Valley Digerati

Nokia N900
Previous: Nokia N810 & N800
 
manvik60's Avatar
Posts: 128 | Thanked: 46 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Switzerland
#57
If the /var/lib/apt/lists/partial does not exits, try recreating it as root

mkdir -p /var/lib/apt/lists/partial
and then
apt-get update
 

The Following User Says Thank You to manvik60 For This Useful Post:
ArchiMark's Avatar
Posts: 414 | Thanked: 109 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Silicon Valley
#58
Originally Posted by manvik60 View Post
If the /var/lib/apt/lists/partial does not exits, try recreating it as root

mkdir -p /var/lib/apt/lists/partial
and then
apt-get update
Thanks, manvik...that did it!

apt-get works again....whew!....was just on the verge of reflashing.....

__________________
Mark
Silicon Valley Digerati

Nokia N900
Previous: Nokia N810 & N800
 
ArchiMark's Avatar
Posts: 414 | Thanked: 109 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Silicon Valley
#59
Well....managed to do it again...although different problem now...hopefully, someone can please advise....If I should start new thread, please let me know...

In order to free up some rootfs space, to try and avoid having App Mgr problems again, I followed all the suggestions in the Wiki article 'Free Up Rootfs Space'...

This includes the one about deleting a bunch of files:

List of big and rarely used files
You can't just delete these files, this is just a list with ideas! You have to know what you are going to do with them (optify, backup+remove, etc.).

/usr/lib/locale/locale-archive (28 MB)
/usr/share/locale (10 MB, but you have to keep at least the one language you use)
/usr/share/themes/alpha and /beta (they use 5-6 MB each, keep the one you use)
/usr/share/fonts/arabic and /chinese (2,5 MB less for people who don't speak those two languages)
I did all the above, but as instructed, I kept a few of the language locales in "/usr/share/locale" such as en_US, en_UK, etc..

A few minutes ago, I rebooted my N900 and VOILA! now my N900 is showing icon labels, system messages, etc, in another language, not even sure which one, but it isn't English, that I'm sure!

Anyway, went to the Settings app in the System directory, opened it and clicked on the 'cpal_ti_language_and _regio....' item and it opens for a second, and then poof it disappears, then I see the message:


memr_ni_application_closed_no_resources
Obviously, I must have deleted at least one item too many....



So, my question is whether there's anyway to fix this or do I need to reflash???

I know that in Debian I would try doing in Terminal

Code:
# dpkg-reconfigure locales
Anything similar to do in Terminal in maemo??

Thanks for any and all advice!!
__________________
Mark
Silicon Valley Digerati

Nokia N900
Previous: Nokia N810 & N800
 
Posts: 110 | Thanked: 38 times | Joined on Apr 2010
#60
Watch out if you made Extras catalog manually, but also have maemo.org catalog because they are the same repository.

You may get duplicate repository errors in the log, which causes "Operation Failed." If the Application Manager has a problem reading what's in /var/lib/apt/lists/, it will say that you have no applications installed, or no updates available.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ceevee For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:14.