Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 4 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Oct 2008
#21
I'm almost there. I'm getting this error:
sh: missing ]
./nokasgps: line 9: cannot create : nonexistent directory

There are no typos in my script - I've checked...
What am I missing?
Thanks for all your help.
-Mark
 
tz1's Avatar
Posts: 716 | Thanked: 236 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#22
Make sure the second line is
i f open-bracket dollar hatch-pound equals equals zero close-bracket semicolon space t h e n

if [ $# == 0 ]; then

It sounds like something ate the closing bracket. Double-check your typing.

Also try "sh -x ./nokasgps" to see what it is actually executing
 

The Following User Says Thank You to tz1 For This Useful Post:
nowave7's Avatar
Posts: 245 | Thanked: 62 times | Joined on Jan 2009 @ Bad Homburg, Deutschland
#23
Hello everybody. I've wanted to try to pair my N810 with my Nokia N80 running tomtom sw using N810 as a bluetooth GPS module. I've used the script that tz1 presented. It starts to pair with the phone, but then it shows that it has disconnected and on the phone it says that there is no GPS device found. Have I missed something?
 
nowave7's Avatar
Posts: 245 | Thanked: 62 times | Joined on Jan 2009 @ Bad Homburg, Deutschland
#24
It is working after all! All it needed was for the N810 to lock on to GPS signal, and the tomtom on N80 found the device and displayed the correct location! Thank you tz1 very much for the script!
 
tz1's Avatar
Posts: 716 | Thanked: 236 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#25
When the GPS starts up on the n810, it only sends a message every 5 seconds, and many phones or other apps will time-out after a fraction of a second and disconnect instead of retrying or waiting after the bluetooth connects. When it starts to see a signal, it will usually send messages every second which is enough for the remote device to pick up.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to tz1 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 25 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Jan 2009
#26
I read this 3 pages about "how to use n810 as BT GPS", but I'm not successful on my n810. Please, can you help me and write me in one post what I have to do? I want to use n810 as BT GPS for Nokia E65..Thank you very much!
 
Posts: 15 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Jun 2009
#27
Originally Posted by Jackeye View Post
I read this 3 pages about "how to use n810 as BT GPS", but I'm not successful on my n810. Please, can you help me and write me in one post what I have to do? I want to use n810 as BT GPS for Nokia E65..Thank you very much!
Go to X Terminal in the n810. This is in Utilities from the menu on the left. Then paste this code in X Terminal.

Code:
#!/bin/sh
if [ $# == 0 ]; then
        sdptool add SP
        while true; do
                rfcomm -r -i hci0 listen 2 1 $0 {}
        done
fi
exec /usr/libexec/navicore-gpsd-helper >$1
  • Tz1 wrote that code

You can now use the Nokia n810's GPA on your computer or cellphone via bluetooth.


Yea it took me about an hour to figure out what to do with that script. I tried saving it a a .install and all sorts of crazy stuff. nex time, just tell us to paste it in the terminal

Last edited by adem3311; 2009-06-08 at 22:32. Reason: Giving credit to tz1
 
Posts: 2 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jun 2009
#28
Originally Posted by adem3311 View Post
Go to X Terminal in the n810. This is in Utilities from the menu on the left. Then paste this code in X Terminal.

Code:
#!/bin/sh
if [ $# == 0 ]; then
        sdptool add SP
        while true; do
                rfcomm -r -i hci0 listen 2 1 $0 {}
        done
fi
exec /usr/libexec/navicore-gpsd-helper >$1
  • Tz1 wrote that code

You can now use the Nokia n810's GPA on your computer or cellphone via bluetooth.


Yea it took me about an hour to figure out what to do with that script. I tried saving it a a .install and all sorts of crazy stuff. nex time, just tell us to paste it in the terminal
I tried to paste the codes in the X-Terminal, but it ended up showing '-sh: rfcomm: not found' endlessly. I had to close the X-Terminal forcedly. And of course my E63 still can't use the GPS module on N810.

Any solutions to my problem? Thanks a lot in advance!
 
qwerty12's Avatar
Posts: 4,274 | Thanked: 5,358 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Looking at y'all and sighing
#29
After enabling Extras, get root access and then run the following, as root:
apt-get install bluez-utils-test
 
Posts: 2 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jun 2009
#30
Originally Posted by qwerty12 View Post
After enabling Extras, get root access and then run the following, as root:
apt-get install bluez-utils-test
Thanks a lot for the hint.

Enable Extra -> root access -> run 'apt-get install bluez-utils-test' -> then run

#!/bin/sh
if [ $# == 0 ]; then
sdptool add SP
while true; do
rfcomm -r -i hci0 listen 2 1 $0 {}
done
fi
exec /usr/libexec/navicore-gpsd-helper >$1

then it reads: 'Serial Port service registered
Waiting for connection on Channel 1',

then I connect my E63 to N810, it shows:'Connection from **:**:**:**:**:**(E63' mac) to /dev/rfcomm2
Press CTRL-C for hangup',

couple seconds later,

': not found2: line 1: *1A
: not found2: line 2: *1A
Disconnected'

And my E63 keeps asking me to connect to N810, each time same result as above.

Would someone tell me what's wrong with my tablet? Many thanks!
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 14:28.