Active Topics

I've just ordered a 770 (from Expansys, the price is awesome), and have a question on memory cards.

have heard plenty of people having issues with memory card compatibility of various Nokia phones (invariably S40). Is there a similar issue with the 770? I'm tending to think not due to the completely different hardware/OS as to other Nokia devices.

Same here, Just ordered Nokia 770, and now searching about for rs mmc cards and trying to find out the upper GB limit as well?
I use Blueface.ie for the phone via Breeze rooftop.Aaron wants to know if the unit is SIP enabled, I'm not able to answer that yet either! As a complete newbie to Linux (have run UBUNTU successfully on my old desktop and mighty impressive it was too!)
As regards code I'm on a steep curve here, so I think the Nokia 770 will be a good purchase at the expansys.ie price currently. Notice it has the 2006 OS so I think much will have to wait until the units are fired up to see what version is in there?

I've never run any form of Linux before, but I did do a little work on Unix systems in my Uni days (close on 20 years back).

The upper GB limit on MMC is 2gig .... and practically thats the same on SD as well (discounting SDHC, although apparently thats mainly a firmware issue, not hardware?).

Regardless, both my colleague and myself have gone and ordered the 770, and 2 x 2gig cards to play with. the 2 gig cards were CHEAP - less than £7 from SVP.

Its going to be handy if they are shipping with the 2006 OS, wouldn't particularly want to start with a new bit of kit and having my first experience being an OS update.

Posts: 3,220 | Thanked: 326 times | Joined on Oct 2005 @ "Almost there!" (Monte Christo, Count of)
Originally Posted by clonmult View Post
I've never run any form of Linux before, but I did do a little work on Unix systems in my Uni days (close on 20 years back).