Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 2 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Nov 2010
#1
Hello,

this is my first post here.

Currently I'm trying to install scratchbox 4.0.1 via the installer script on a ubuntu 10.10 machine, did this before on ubuntu 10.04 without a problem. The plan is to write a simple python script for playing Go via IGS server with OS2008 (HE). Maybe.

Right now scratchbox installs fine, user creating works, /scratchbox/login works, too, but somehow everytime I try to use apt (apt-get update, fakeroot apt-get update) sb tells me "bash: apt not found" - am I missing something here?

Apt worked fine on my old ubuntu 10.04-scratchbox but does not if I install scratchbox on a fresh downloaded ubuntu 10.04 usb image...!?

Any help would be greately appreciated.

Edit: Should have mentioned that the problem occurs if I try to install the sdk-4.0.1, script starts and then complains about terminal xterm missing - searching for the problem tells me I have to apt-get install ncurses-base within scratchbox -> apt does not work.

Last edited by mialwe; 2010-11-04 at 17:24.
 
Posts: 2 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Nov 2010
#2
Ok, seems to be fixed using "manually installing sdk" (http://tablets-dev.nokia.com/4.1/INSTALL.txt), Apt seems to be working now.
For now only xterm is missing:
Code:
[sbox-DIABLO_ARMEL: ~] > exit
logout
tset: unknown terminal type xterm
Terminal type?
I'll try to fix this, move /scratchbox to $HOME-Partition (symlink worked fine the last time) and get some information on python/hildon/telnet module (IGS server) later this night (going to play withy my 1 1/2 year old son now )...
 
Posts: 540 | Thanked: 387 times | Joined on May 2009
#3
Some of this is Fedora-specific (disabling SELinux for example) but the rest should work or at least be a general guideline for what you need to do to get set up. http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p=848461&postcount=4
 
Posts: 22 | Thanked: 21 times | Joined on Dec 2010
#4
Originally Posted by mialwe View Post
Ok, seems to be fixed using "manually installing sdk" (http://tablets-dev.nokia.com/4.1/INSTALL.txt), Apt seems to be working now.
For now only xterm is missing:
Code:
[sbox-DIABLO_ARMEL: ~] > exit
logout
tset: unknown terminal type xterm
Terminal type?
I'll try to fix this, move /scratchbox to $HOME-Partition (symlink worked fine the last time) and get some information on python/hildon/telnet module (IGS server) later this night (going to play withy my 1 1/2 year old son now )...
I've just installed Kubuntu and the Maemo SDK and was having the same problem although I'm sure it was OK initially but suddenly started happening although I have no idea why (it could have been because of almost anything I have done since I have no idea what I'm doing really) But, I managed to find this topic which although didn't sound to be exactly the same was similar:
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=65630

I'm not sure what a host is, but with a bit more help from Google I think I made the connection that 'run as root' means to prefix the commands with the 'sudo' command which in turn asks for my password.

What I actually did was start a new CMD window with the Konsole program and type:
Code:
sudo mkdir -p /usr/share/terminfo/x
cd /usr/share/terminfo/x
sudo ln -s /lib/terminfo/x/xterm xterm
NOTE that 'sudo cd /usr/share/terminfo/x' doesn't work, just type 'cd /usr/share/terminfo/x' as shown above.

Now 'logout' and 'sb-conf select FREMANTLE_ARMEL/X86' work again

Hope this helps
Sophie x

BTW although there are no drive letters in Kubuntu I have managed to find my Windows files and programs but don't seem to be able to run any of them without restarting my laptop with Windows - when I can't even find anything to do with Kubuntu. is this normal?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Just4pLeisure For This Useful Post:
Posts: 244 | Thanked: 354 times | Joined on Jul 2010 @ Scotland
#5
Originally Posted by Just4pLeisure View Post
BTW although there are no drive letters in Kubuntu I have managed to find my Windows files and programs but don't seem to be able to run any of them without restarting my laptop with Windows - when I can't even find anything to do with Kubuntu. is this normal?
Perfectly normal. Windows is unable to mount your Linux partitions by standard (although there are drivers out in the ether than provide partial - possibly only read-only - support for Linux various file systems, ext2 ext3 etc).

If you have a desire to run Windows applications while running Kubuntu, I would recommend VirtualBox. Note that while it is possible to migrate your existing Windows to a VM (http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Migrate_Windows) it's a little bit more effort that just performing a fresh install.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to gregoranderson For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:58.