Hey everyone, how goes it?

Im faily new to the forum but not new to forums in general. I didnt search this due to the slight urgency.

Im looking at the N900 off Ebay. Risky I know, but for around 330-350 USD with shipping, its perfect.

But I live in Canada, and specifically have Fido as a service provider, meaning the 3G wont work in my area.

Im a student going to live on residance, so talking isn't going to be my number one priority. Texting, Facebook, games, Twitter, browsing web pages and going on MSN-esque programs are my main needs. Aswell as a flowing UI, which Maemo can give. I'm not a 'power' user, but I love to tinker with the device (Former Symbian User)

So in final my question is:

Is it worth getting the N900 if my area is not 3G compatible?
Should I focus on Andriod instead?

Posts: 1,425 | Thanked: 983 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Hong Kong
Do you worry that you'd get some refurbished N900 (i.e. old hardware with new case) at that price?

The N900 has a pretty good browser and lots of instant messaging support, so it seems to meet your needs. However, unless you specifically need a phone-sized device, I'd suggest getting a netbook.
Otherwise, the N900 is possibly still one of the best phones for web stuff.

Nobody can just "tell" you what to do. If you don't have time to properly research a purchase my recommendation is not to purchase it.

The pro's and con's of N900 and the N900 vs iPhone, vs Android, vs Samsung X, HTC Y, Motorola Z, Google Q.. are all over these forums and will require you to read to decide if it's worth it for what you want. We are not you.. we can't tell you if it's worth your money or not.
pyRadio - Pandora Radio on your N900, N810 or N800!

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to fatalsaint For This Useful Post:
Posts: 568 | Thanked: 969 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Toronto