Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 434 | Thanked: 325 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#1
Has anyone tried to make use QMYSQL with MADDE and Qt Creator? How should it be configured? Is it even possible?
 
Posts: 434 | Thanked: 325 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#2
OK, I've found these:

http://qt.nokia.com/doc/4.6/sql-driver.html
http://qt.nokia.com/doc/4.6/install-x11.html

But I'm not quite sure where I should try to "install" these MySQL "drivers". Should they be on my Windows computer, where I'm using Qt Creator, or in my target N900?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 
krk969's Avatar
Posts: 754 | Thanked: 630 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ London
#3
the mysql plugin must be installed to the runtime env.

in your .pro file

QT += sql should help you compile if you have libqt4-sql package installed on the dev env

i think that should work. sqlite is an inprocess db and doesnt need a dbmanager/daemon. is that good for you ? or do you need mysql for specific reasons
__________________
Developer of :
Buddy - budget/expense manager ( website )
Showtime - a telly channel listing viewer/reminder ( website )
Travelapp - london underground status/planner ( website )
Batlevel - desktop widget for battery level ( website )

“I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand.”
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to krk969 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 434 | Thanked: 325 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#4
Originally Posted by krk969 View Post
the mysql plugin must be installed to the runtime env.
How can I do that?


Originally Posted by krk969 View Post
in your .pro file

QT += sql should help you compile if you have libqt4-sql package installed on the dev env
I already have that.


Originally Posted by krk969 View Post
i think that should work. sqlite is an inprocess db and doesnt need a dbmanager/daemon. is that good for you ? or do you need mysql for specific reasons
I want to access an external MySQL server to retrieve data. Can I use SQLLite for that?

Thanks for your help.
 
krk969's Avatar
Posts: 754 | Thanked: 630 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ London
#5
Originally Posted by Sasler View Post
How can I do that?
seems like libqt4-maemo5-sql-mysql plugin exists for maemo.
So probably PR1.2 will bring it by default, for now maybe you can try installing the above one. ( Im not sure if thats community supported , you may want to check with the uploader)

*EDIT*
here is the QT4.5 version. So I think you can expect the QT4.6 version with PR1.2 or you can use the above for now.

Originally Posted by Sasler View Post
I want to access an external MySQL server to retrieve data. Can I use SQLLite for that?
Sqlite is an inprocess file based db , so if you are accessing a remote DB MySQL or PostgreSql is the way forward then.
I think MySQL has more support on most online sites.
__________________
Developer of :
Buddy - budget/expense manager ( website )
Showtime - a telly channel listing viewer/reminder ( website )
Travelapp - london underground status/planner ( website )
Batlevel - desktop widget for battery level ( website )

“I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand.”

Last edited by krk969; 2010-03-30 at 10:08.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to krk969 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 434 | Thanked: 325 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#6
Originally Posted by krk969 View Post
seems like libqt4-maemo5-sql-mysql plugin exists for maemo.
So probably PR1.2 will bring it by default, for now maybe you can try installing the above one. ( Im not sure if thats community supported , you may want to check with the uploader)

*EDIT*
here is the QT4.5 version. So I think you can expect the QT4.6 version with PR1.2 or you can use the above for now.


Sqlite is an inprocess file based db , so if you are accessing a remote DB MySQL or PostgreSql is the way forward then.
I think MySQL has more support on most online sites.
Thanks, but in the link you provided, the package status is "Package has been removed". Oh well, I guess I have to wait for the PR1.2, which should be really close.

Of course, now the question is how soon will MADDE (or Qt Creator) support Qt 4.6? I hope on the same day as PR1.2 is out.
 
krk969's Avatar
Posts: 754 | Thanked: 630 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ London
#7
MADDE was already supporting QT4.6 albeit not official .
But I think it wouldnt be too long after the official release.

*EDIT*
Originally Posted by Sasler View Post
in the link you provided, the package status is "Package has been removed"
I guess that explains why I didnt find it in the first place when I did an apt-cache search
atleast libqt4-maemo5* version exists for now
__________________
Developer of :
Buddy - budget/expense manager ( website )
Showtime - a telly channel listing viewer/reminder ( website )
Travelapp - london underground status/planner ( website )
Batlevel - desktop widget for battery level ( website )

“I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand.”

Last edited by krk969; 2010-03-30 at 18:07.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to krk969 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 200 | Thanked: 44 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#8
any news on this subject any one managed to do this? if so how did you install the plugin to madde so that qt simulator recognise it as a driver?

Last edited by jamie721; 2010-10-21 at 23:44.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:54.