Active Topics

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the Nokia Internet Tablet and had my eye on a 770 for about a year until I recently purchased an n800. I must say, this is quite an impressive machine and I'm happy with it so far. I'm familiar with Linux using it on and off for several years and its neat having a handheld wireless Linux device with 800x480 resolution!

I bought it for my own use, but it would be great to be able to use it at work as well. The problem I have is that we use RSA SecurID cards for wireless access control here.

Has anyone connected their Internet Tablet to anything similar?

On my Windows XP laptop, we have an additional PEAP component "Cisco Aironet PEAP Supplicant" installed. The laptop uses WPA2, AES encryption and a second phase EAP Type of One Time Password "Generic Token Card" (GTC/SecurID).

Doing a little digging around, I found that the "Cisco Aironet PEAP Supplicant" could be equivalent to the Meetinghouse and Funk supplicants allowing "PEAP with Generic Token Card (GTC)"
(more info)

Cisco acquired Meetinghouse and their product was AEGIS SecureConnect and now the Cisco Secure Services Client. Intermec appears to have the Funk Odyssey wireless LAN access control that only supports Windows and PocketPC devices from what I gather.

On the n800 under "Conn. Setup: WPA EAP PEAP" there is an option for EAP method "EAP GTC" which I’m assuming is the Generic Token Card. Under "Connection setup: Advanced settings-EAP", I see options for "use manual user name" and "Require client authentication". Trying various combinations of each I am still unable to get an authentication dialog box to enter the username and pin+card_numbers and it returns with an "Authentication failed." message.

I’m not holding my breath, but does anyone know if SecurID wireless LAN access control is possible with the Internet Tablet?

Posts: 11,700 | Thanked: 10,045 times | Joined on Jun 2006 @ North Texas, USA