Active Topics

I'm having some really odd difficulties in locating the .sounds directory. This no doubt due my limited understanding of Linux.

I got the following (Qt) code:

Code:
QString fileName = QFileDialog::getOpenFileName(this,tr("Open Sound"), "/home/user/MyDocs/.sounds", tr("Wave Files (*.wav)"));

// END
With this I get the no files/folders in Open file dialog and the directory up button is disabled. The same thing happens when pointing to /home/user/MyDocs. When I point to /home/user, I don't see the MyDocs directory but up button works.

Can anyone please explain what I'm doing wrong? Where is the .sounds directory located?

Thank you

Last edited by Sasler; 2010-01-01 at 06:30.

Posts: 232 | Thanked: 102 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Warren, MI, USA
looks like the correct path to me. Maybe you need the trailing forward slash? I'm shooting in the dark here...I'm no programmer.

The Following User Says Thank You to pagesix1536 For This Useful Post:
Originally Posted by pagesix1536 View Post
looks like the correct path to me. Maybe you need the trailing forward slash? I'm shooting in the dark here...I'm no programmer.
Thanks, but it doesn't make any difference. The same result.

Posts: 355 | Thanked: 566 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Redstone Canyon, Colorado
Ya, that PATH is correct.

The reason they made it a "hidden" directory was so they could translate it. Like that directory *name* stays the same across all installations, but on my spanish system it says "Sonidos", for example. So they are mapping to it some other way as well, to provide translations. Also, files that begin with a dot ".", are called "hidden" files in *nix. This isn't a full answer to your question, but maybe that provides some hints that will help.

Good luck and post the answer if you find it.

The Following User Says Thank You to jebba For This Useful Post:
Posts: 4,274 | Thanked: 5,358 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Looking at y'all and sighing