Although the topic of setting up a SSH connection has been repeatedly covered (particularly in http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=18798 ), I am still unable to access my N900 from my Laptop

On the N900 I installed OpenSSH Client/Server. Now: Is there anything else I have to do? For instance, create a user? If so, how do i do that? (I am a noob....)

I tried to figure out the IP of the N900 using the command "ifconfig". However I have problems interpreting the output:
Under Link encap:UNSPEC it is written: inet addr:10.77.247.53
which is followed by
Link encap:Local Loopback inet addr: 127.0.0.1
If I use the site www.getip.config I get something like 82.113.106.96
Which of those is my ip?

I entered all 3 ips in the Putty on my laptop, but failed to connect.

Any thoughts? Thx!

Posts: 850 | Thanked: 626 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Vienna, Austria
Originally Posted by plutonium239 View Post
I tried to figure out the IP of the N900 using the command "ifconfig".
which type of connection do you want to use? the wlan interface usually lists as "wlan0" in ifconfig.
if you want to connect over 3G to your phone - that's probably not going to work, since you don't get a public IP address over 3G.

if the address you mentioned (10.77.247.53) is from the 3G interface (it's called "gprs0" on my device), it definately isn't going to work, because 10.* is a private network, typical for 3G connections.

Yes, this was a 3G connection. So, if I understood you right, I will never be able to access the phone when on 3G?

I also have wlan at home. Suppose I use that connection (what I do, when at home). What would I have to do?
wlan01 output from ifconfig reads: 192.170.0.158 (connection is established by a router wlan-router)

Posts: 207 | Thanked: 119 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Pittsburgh, PA, USA