Active Topics

Posts: 102 | Thanked: 23 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Finland
Hi all!
I was wondering if windows emulator like wine for linux could be
ported to maemo (n900). Im very new in the maemo world and to be honest in linux too, but the new n900 seems very promising and
think it'll be my next phone

Wine is not a windows emulator ("Wine" means 'Wine Is Not an Emulator" btw.)

In other words, it does not emulate an x86 Windows computer. It interfaces an x86 Windows application to an x86 Linux system by providing an interface to x86 Windows-type libraries and services.

The N900 uses an ARM CPU, not x86.

The Following User Says Thank You to TA-t3 For This Useful Post:
Windows 3.1

http://tabletblog.com/2008/07/dosbox...1-on-n810.html

I doubt you can do Win95, but worth a try.

Posts: 780 | Thanked: 855 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Helsinki, Finland
N900 uses ARM architecture and that means any Windows emulation would be extremely slow, next to unusable. The Win 3.1 thing was just something that was done only for shits and giggles.

The Following User Says Thank You to joppu For This Useful Post:
Originally Posted by joppu View Post
N900 uses ARM architecture and that means any Windows emulation would be extremely slow, next to unusable. The Win 3.1 thing was just something that was done only for shits and giggles.
Considering my first Windows 3.0 machine was a 16 mhz 386 with 2mb of ram, I would think a 400 mhz ARM processor can easily run/emulate Windows 3.1.

Posts: 1,217 | Thanked: 446 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Bedfordshire, UK
Originally Posted by ioioio View Post
Considering my first Windows 3.0 machine was a 16 mhz 386 with 2mb of ram, I would think a 400 mhz ARM processor can easily run/emulate Windows 3.1.
ARM is a totally different architecture and instruction set so raw speed is not a good indicator of ability to emmulate. That's before we get to the hackfest that is the Windows API!