Hello,

This is my first post on the forum! I want to start developing on the Maemo platform but am having a hard time to know where to start.

A little about my background to put things into context, I am a Software Developer using ColdFusion MX and SQL Server 2005 developing web applications. I have limited knowledge of Java, Perl, and Visual Basic. No real experience of Linux.

I have been reading bits of the Development area of the site, but everything appears to be aimed at developer’s proficient with mobile development.

Please could someone guide me where to start and what I need to learn? I am more than happy to pick up C++ as a starter.

Thanks,

Rav

Posts: 369 | Thanked: 191 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Virginia
Wax on, wax off

Originally Posted by Hogwash View Post
Wax on, wax off
Sorry I didn't understand your reply??

Posts: 199 | Thanked: 144 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ gbg.se
I am not sure what part of the development area you have read, but there is some documentation and guides here:

http://wiki.maemo.org/Documentation/...eveloper_Guide

I am new here myself and not a developer, so I might not be the right person to give advice, but starting to look through that and following threads in the forum could perhaps be a good start. Most of the development is made in Python or C.

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to nymajoak For This Useful Post:
Posts: 199 | Thanked: 144 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ gbg.se
Welcome to maemo.org by the way!

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to nymajoak For This Useful Post:
Posts: 850 | Thanked: 626 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Vienna, Austria
don't mind hogwash, he's just playing.

as you have little experience with linux, I believe here would be your best starting point.

Nathan put together a nice and comfy windows vpc image with scripts which will set up a ready to go developement environment.