Active Topics

Posts: 117 | Thanked: 32 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ New Hampshire, USA
Can anybody suggest a good presentation remote that works well with Linux? I'm using Ubuntu 8.10 with Open Office Impress.

My needs?

-I need an RF remote with a 50-100 ft range.
-I NEED it to page forward, and page back.
-I NEED it to be reliable.
-It must not turn off automatically or loose sync for periods of less than 45 minutes.
-I do not need mouse control or laser pointer.
-It would be nice If it had programable buttons (macros) but that's not nessicary.

The programable buttons would be so that I could play a qued-up video in VLC on another virtual desktop then switch back. ie one button for <ctrl><alt><right> one for <ctrl><alt><left> and one for the space bar (which pauses and un-pauses VLC)

If anyone has any suggestions, I would really appreciate it. I suspect that all presentation remotes are universal and would work with Linux, but I've never used one before, so I don't know.

Posts: 183 | Thanked: 115 times | Joined on Nov 2007 @ Seattle, WA
Have you tried BlueMaemo? It might satisfy your needs without you needing to buy a remote.

I don't think that'll be any good. I tried it with my phone, and it tested great, but it fell down once the room was full of people and/or bluetooth enabled phones. I just don't think BT has the signal strength for my application, and I can't handle the embarrassment of another public failure.

How far were you? o.O I've done presentations with my laptop booted into Vista + n800 using Bluemaemo and it worked just fine (bad graph depiction below)
--------------------------------- PROJECTOR SCREEN
LAPTOP ---------------ME
(distance)
------------------------------ REST OF MY CLASS

"Meamo!" sounds like what Zorro would say to catherine zeta jones... after she slaps him for looking at her dirtily...