Posts: 149 | Thanked: 21 times | Joined on Jun 2007 @ Germany
I waited 4 weeks before I write my opinion so this isn't an euphoric 1st impression.

I'm lost, I bought an unlocked iPhone from Italy!

I owned a N810 for ~10 months and after jailbreaking iPhone, I only miss the 5MP cam (N82) and Carman (old gtk version) from my two devices, my N82 phone and my N810.

I need _one_ (not a phone and another internet tablet) pocketable Unix box with ssh client/server, a shell, python scripting, music player and I don't want to program a useful GUI and user interaction, I need a useful GUI and user interaction by default. I'm not that heavy GUI programer, I'm a Unix admin which can wrote some useful personal shell scripts and I need ssh to administrate my servers.

And I need a PIM, web browser und music player which is _really_ capable to be used with my fingers. No stylus anymore, no taping when I want to scroll, but is registrated as a single click. GPS is fast too and with OfflineMaps, I can use Google maps like Nokia maps. I don't need much more from a navigation app.

I loved to have Linux as a pocketable Unix device, but Linux isn't ready for everything _I_ personaly need (for example Exchange client because I need the device for my company too and I don't take two devices with me, never ever).

Thank you guys, this was really a very impressive and informative time where I learned very much about this pocketable devices.

Posts: 24 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ Near Paris, France
did you have a look into the E90 ?
it has :
putty
python
zsh and telnetd : http://developer.symbian.com/wiki/display/pub/P.I.P.S.
mail for exchange

Last edited by pierro78; 2008-11-15 at 12:44.

PS :
For the E90 I also noticed Ayix "a pure Python-based emulated Unix-like OS for Series 60 mobile phones" :
http://www.symbian-freak.com/forum/v...ic.php?t=16980
http://discussion.forum.nokia.com/fo...d.php?t=127044

Posts: 149 | Thanked: 21 times | Joined on Jun 2007 @ Germany