Active Topics

Posts: 900 | Thanked: 273 times | Joined on Aug 2008 @ Fresno CA USA
As a writer I've used external keyboards with PDAs for years. Availability of the bluetooth keyboard was a factor in my purchase of an N810. I selected the Nokia SU-8W because I assumed it would be better integrated operationally than 3rd party choices.

Mechanically the keyboard is great but learning how how to type with 55 keys when we're used to 104 or more takes time. Six of the SU-8W keys serve purposes on cell phones but do nothing on the N810. These now useless keys aught to be assigned to N810 function keys like "full screen" and "menu". Pairing took a number of tries. In part because the written instructions that came with the keyboard differed from pairing on the N810. The Internet Tablet School came to the rescue -- Tablet School. Once paired the N810 knows to act as if the sliding keyboard was in use.

Lastly the keyboard repeat isn't configurable. I get unexpected extra repeat characters entered. As a rule I have to extend the delay before automatic key repeat starts on all systems I use. Keyboard operation needs to be improved in software by providing a way to adjust the repeat function and by utilizing the ignored special function keys on the SU-8W. I have no doubt that the Linux open source community is up to the challenge and will make those improvements over time. For my part I need to at least post a development request in the proper place.
Personal Blog -- 3 Joe's Blog

N810 -- 5.2010.33-1

Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
You may be able to get your dead keys working using xmodmap. As this tutorial suggests, you need to use xev to find the codes for your dead keys, then you make an .xmodmap file in your /user/home directory that maps these keys to useful functions.