Active Topics

Hi all,

I'm a part time photographer for a magazine so I would love to be able to view my photos on the n810 instead of the camera's 2 inch screen.

I bought an idotconnect usb multicard reader/writer, and when I switch the N810 over to USB host mode, an Alcor micro corp device shows up as expected. However, once I put my Lexar 2gb Compact Flash card in I keep getting "USB device not supported" over and over. The card works fine in the camera and on my computer's internal card reader. In fact, I can also plug the idotconnect card reader into my computer's USB and access my compact flash card that way.

I was doing some investigating and found that my Transcend 4gb miniSD (with SD adapter) works fine on the N810 when I plug it into the card reader. I see the device show up in File Manager, and I can read and write my files.

So my question is, does anyone else have experience with this card reader? Does it sound like a problem with the card or the reader? Why would maemo seem to like my Transcend minisd card but not my Lexar CF?

Thanks for the advice,
Mike

I think the CF card requires more power to run than the miniSD and the N810 has a very low power supply. If you could power the reader seperately you would probably get it to work with the CF and the N810

No experience with that card reader, but you might try something like this for your CF needs: http://www.amazon.com/SD-CF-Type-Ada...2374952&sr=8-1

Then you can just stick with SD format for both SD and CF. I use one of these with my Nikon 300 and an 8GB SD card and it works fine.

Thanks for the posts, guys. dfinch, that makes sense about the additional power. It's too bad if that's really the case. I assume there's nothing that can be done to boost the power output?