Posts: 28 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Oct 2007 @ London UK
I'm trying to become root on my N800 (OS2008) but I'm having issues. I need to execute some shell commands as root to get a bluetooth freedom keyboard to work (following instructions on http://www.internettablettalk.com/fo...t=12660&page=3 ). I tried 3 methods:
  • Red pill mode which works (at least it didn't cause an error) but I don't get a root prompt.
  • I tried installing openssh and it asked me to set a root password but then I couldn't find an openssh program to run. I tried opening an xterm and doing sudo root and entering this password but that didn't work either.
  • I tried sudo gainroot but that just caused an error.

I know this has been asked a million times but the hardware changes, the OS changes, what runs in each OS changes. I think I've tried most things and, while I'm not an sys admin, I'm not a beginner with unix but I'm definitely stuck. Help!

Mike

Posts: 4,274 | Thanked: 5,358 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Looking at y'all and sighing
For openssh:

ssh root@127.0.0.1

Red Pill is not root.

Get easyroot from http://www.nitapps.com/ to use sudo gainroot.

Posts: 129 | Thanked: 81 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Austin, TX
becomeroot

The Following User Says Thank You to jellotherat For This Useful Post:
Posts: 5,478 | Thanked: 5,222 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ St. Petersburg, FL
Originally Posted by mike_bike_kite View Post
[LIST][*]Red pill mode which works (at least it didn't cause an error) but I don't get a root prompt. [/list
That's not a method for gaining a root shell, that's a method for unlocking the "debug" mode in Application manager. You're thinking of flashing the device into R&D mode.

• I tried installing openssh and it asked me to set a root password but then I couldn't find an openssh program to run. I tried opening an xterm and doing sudo root and entering this password but that didn't work either.
The correct method for getting a root shell using ssh is:

Code: