Well let's start at the beginning. I do IT work for a living, I own a windows box and a mac laptop. I would consider myself a competent windows admin, but my experience with CLI's has mostly been network troubleshooting related and up until the n900 I had never interacted with a linux system.

When I first was told about the "next internet tablet" I was skeptical. I already had a laptop and a cell phone, what did I need this thing for? As I did more research and more info was given to me I came to realize that this was not simply a widescreen blackberry, it was an exceedingly pocketable netbook/cell phone/swiss army gadget monstrosity. I had to have one. Besides, my old cell phone was getting a little worn...

That tape's not on there to make it look pretty.

I was a November order so my n900 came in December 4th; the beginning of a month long vacation. I was surprised by how small it was, but found that using it at lap level yielded perfect results. I had one stuck pixel (barely visible) and none of the other hardware problems I've read the bemoaning of on these forums.

After getting a T-mo sim I set about browsing a little and installing a couple of apps. A little while later I plugged the little guy into my macbook so I could really get down to business. The setup was extremely simple (see here) and I was doing everything I normally do, reading daily comics, checking email and a few shopping sites for X-mas deals. it worked for about an hour, but then...

Oh Noes!

Well it wasn't quite that dramatic, but yes my mac 'asploded as it were (Screen issues, probably the ballast or GFX card). And all of the sudden my little n900 became a whole hell of a lot more important. I am 30 days away from my PC and who knows what apple is doing with my mac, so for now it's just me and this little guy.