Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Underscore's Avatar
Posts: 276 | Thanked: 74 times | Joined on Feb 2008 @ Missouri, USA
#11
OK! Finally got it working after the install.sh fix. To run fvmwm2, though, I couldnt just type fvmw2 in xterm. I had to enter /usr/local/bin/fvwm2
Thanks iiiedokeiii!
 
Underscore's Avatar
Posts: 276 | Thanked: 74 times | Joined on Feb 2008 @ Missouri, USA
#12
This even works with KDE. The desktop is put in its own window and the panels stay right where they were. It sounds like a dumb idea to run it with KDE, but I tried opening Konquerer and it seemed to open/run faster than usual (maybe just imaging things.) I'll have to experiment more with this
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Underscore For This Useful Post:
Posts: 15 | Thanked: 19 times | Joined on Jul 2008
#13
Thats cool. I opened kicker the other day with remote forwarding so I could have the menu to easily play with other programs. Ive been wanting to open a desktop but couldn't get nautilus to spawn a desktop on it (I normally run gnome). I'll have to try the KDE desktop for kicks.
 
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#14
Hey, I got it to stop via dsmetool just fine...

In my case, you gotta do a:
Code:
chroot /mnt/initfs dsmetool --stop="/usr/bin/matchbox-window-manager -theme hendrika -use_titlebar yes -use_desktop_mode plain -use_lowlight no -use_cursor yes -use_dialog_mode static -use_super_modal yes"
Then it closes cleanly. I'm gonna mash up a script that does this for whatever settings; I think it's a bit cleaner than disabling the auto-restart.

EDIT: Here ya go:
Code:
chroot /mnt/initfs dsmetool --stop="$(tr '\000' ' ' </proc/`pidof matchbox-window-manager`/cmdline|sed 's/ $//')"

Last edited by Benson; 2008-07-18 at 23:34.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Benson For This Useful Post:
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#15
Ok, or maybe one better... get the existing code to do all the work for us.

Code:
#!/bin/sh
. /etc/osso-af-init/af-defines.sh
. /etc/osso-af-init/matchbox.defs
. /etc/osso-af-init/matchbox.sh
Call that with either start or stop arguments to start or stop matchbox.
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Benson For This Useful Post:
Posts: 15 | Thanked: 19 times | Joined on Jul 2008
#16
Very Nice. I've tried to stop it using the exact args it was started with, but I guess I never was able to form the command correctly. This makes things much nicer. Thanks
 
Posts: 33 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Aug 2008 @ South Carolina
#17
stupid newb question:

First download the tar file:
http://www.cs.rpi.edu/~phillc3/fvwm2.tar
Copy it to your tablet: (Or just download it there)

I downloaded the file....and copied it to /home/user/ directory...

become root: (Here are some methods)
sudu su (If you are in your sudoers)
sudo gainroot (If becomeroot installed)
ssh method (if ssh client installed)

I got Root....

cd to root directory:
cd /

Did this too.....

untar:
tar -xvf /home/user/fvmw2.tar

But the tar command gives me a "Cant open '/home/user/fvmw2.tar' : No such file or directory
But I can 'ls' and the tar file is there.....


Any ideas....?
Thanks so much for your help,
Steve
 
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#18
Well, it should be fvwm2.tar; transposition. There's a few such things through here...
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Benson For This Useful Post:
Posts: 33 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Aug 2008 @ South Carolina
#19
Yes...that allowed me to tar....thanks.

But when I do the killall matchbox-window it just restarts the matchbox....and it wont let me do it as root....I have to exit.

Isnt there an way to add this all to a script, so I can just click on a button and it kills matchbox and brings FVWM up and runs it....? I am going to be having to do this pretty frequently.

Any ideas or help would be great....thanks again Benson

Steve
 
Posts: 15 | Thanked: 19 times | Joined on Jul 2008
#20
Yeah, I tend to saf things bass ackwards sowetimes, especially in these late night posts. If I remember correctly you need to run the install script then restart before you will permanently aable to kill matchbox. The script copies a modified startup script for matchbox that allows it to be killed. As far starting and stopping it, I added the commands to my cpu status bar applet.

~Cody
 

The Following User Says Thank You to iiiedokeiii For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:53.