Active Topics

After spending time searching this forum and reading the various reviews it like the Nokia N800 COULD replace my Dell X50v. It only needs better Video performance and USB Host capability to be complete.

Its larger screen will help my eyes but what is holding me up, besides a complete lack of linux knowledge, is the reports of screen problems and the random reboots. Since Nokia Service seems to be less than ideal I am wondering what is the chance of getting a bad unit? It seems to be high but I know a person usually only reports problems not sucess.

Also how hard is the N800 to figure out for the complete Newbe? Seems Nokia could take some lessons from MS and Apple in making a consistant user interface. It seems to be incomplete in many areas. ???

Last edited by remjax; 2007-03-13 at 18:25.

the interface itself is actually rather intuitive, based on its simplicity. Both a blessing and a curse.

My n800 has never actually crashed on me. I have had no hardware issues, or default software issues with mine what so ever.. all my problems are strictly user introduced.

remjax- you are less of a newbie than I, I hadn't used any sort of small electronic device (PDA-esque) before 2 days ago. It took me a bit to understand how things work on it, but I'm already getting the hang of it and I know nothing about Linux. I'm a WinXP guy. So far, no crashes, just me ignoring the "low battery" warnings, which of course means I have to wait while it charges. Hoping to customize it a bit and get the email set up today...
- SL

Sam, only running two days and already low battery warnings.. what are you doing man? Also whats your brightness at.. I run my at half all the time.

Posts: 316 | Thanked: 29 times | Joined on Feb 2007 @ Maryland, US
Only had mine a few weeks but am enjoying it a lot.