Active Topics

Hey Everyone
I am new to Linux (Maemo) and know nothing, and I've been searching for a Text2Speech program for my N800. I found a program that works with Linux and was wondering if I can install it on the N800. If someone would kindly take a look and tell me if its possible I would surely be greatful.

http://www.nch.com.au/verbose/index.html

Thanks in advance for any and all the help you may provide me in this matter.

Last edited by tj110158; 2008-01-19 at 04:27. Reason: mispell word

Posts: 183 | Thanked: 115 times | Joined on Nov 2007 @ Seattle, WA
There's already a text-to-speech program that works on the N800. It's called flite, and it's in the maemo Extras repository.

Posts: 36 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Nov 2007 @ Orlando, FL
I installed flite but can not find it to try it out. How does it work ?

Posts: 1,137 | Thanked: 402 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Catalunya
open a terminal and type

Code:
flite "hello world"
to know all the options

Code:
flite --help

People, the program that I'm looking for will read any highlighted text I choose, not text from a prompt. It will read "webpages, ebooks, proof read letters I type, things like that." I know its out there somewhere because Windows and Mac have them. The real question I had is "Can I use any Linux Program on the Nokia N800" or does it have to be made for Maemo?

Originally Posted by tj110158 View Post
People, the program that I'm looking for will read any highlighted text I choose, not text from a prompt. It will read "webpages, ebooks, proof read letters I type, things like that." I know its out there somewhere because Windows and Mac have them.
I haven't seen any myself I'm afraid.

Originally Posted by tj110158 View Post
The real question I had is "Can I use any Linux Program on the Nokia N800" or does it have to be made for Maemo?
The simple answer: It has to be made for Maemo.