Poll: Should the N800/N810 thumb keyboard have a transparency setting?
Poll Options
Should the N800/N810 thumb keyboard have a transparency setting?

Posts: 11,700 | Thanked: 10,045 times | Joined on Jun 2006 @ North Texas, USA
Ragnar wants science applied to this subject, so we'll give him a scientific poll. Hey, I'm a professional data analyst; I'm qualified!

Posts: 1,310 | Thanked: 820 times | Joined on Mar 2006 @ Irving, TX
Originally Posted by Texrat View Post
Ragnar wants science applied to this subject, so we'll give him a scientific poll. Hey, I'm a professional data analyst; I'm qualified!
If you're so qualified... didn't you just forget the poll?

EDIT: Never mind... it just showed up...

Originally Posted by Mara View Post
If you're so qualified... didn't you just forget the poll?

EDIT: Never mind... it just showed up...
Consider yourself virtually slapped with a trout.

Posts: 631 | Thanked: 1,123 times | Joined on Sep 2005 @ Helsinki
Democratic polling does not ensure good usability any more than a "democratic election" ensures selecting a good leader.

(All taken with good humour: my general experience is that democracy in design = committees = least common denominators = too many cooks = everybody wants something = compromises.)

If you ask users that would they possibly like to have feature A, would they appreciate it and use it, their initial answers really have rather little correlation to how they actually behave once feature A (alongside all the other features) gets implemented. There are too many complex features in products because people think that somebody might eventually use them. And even if 10% would, the 90% that won't use them get bogged down by the complexity that having these extra features create. Not to mention the time and effort spent in implementation, maintenance, legacy requirements that they eventually create etc., all slowing down a process that could potentially create something more worthwhile.