Posts: 16 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Germany
Hello,

I am NEW to writing apps in Qt.
Until now i programmed software for small microcontrollers (like AVR).
I also programmed some small apps for console in C.

So please forgive me if i have to ask step by step:

My Idea:
I got a Bluetooth-Module (BlueNiceCom III pdf) and combined it with an AVR.
This module is sending Data via SPP-Protokoll.
I wan tto write a GIU-APP that converts this data in e.g. bar graph or text in a first step.

Until now
My brohter helped me out writing a small console app (in C) to see the incoming data in the terminal.
We compiled it directly on the N900.. But the compiler and all its parts was so big.. so I had to remove it (and unfortunately reflash my N900).
So far i know a bit about how bluetooth as SPP works (own file for the opened connection / rfcomm and so on)

Bevore i forget.
I have:
WondowsXP
Nokia Qt SDK
MADDE
and of course a N900.. ;-)

Now I want to start (and go on ) with Qt to get what I need.
I had my first experiences in writing a "hello World"-APP and my C++ is getting better.

My next step (and my first questions) is to establish a bluetooth connection to a known (MAC-address) bluetooth device.
Does anyone have any experiences in connecting a bluetooth-device (via SPP) with Qt?
Is there a lib that i can use? (and how can I?)

I found the QBluetooth-lib.. But its only for symbian devices..

I hope I dont get awnsers like : rtfm..
better would be: rtfm "here", "here" and "here" ...

TY so far,
Markus

Last edited by mboremski; 2010-09-20 at 19:11. Reason: added links

Posts: 166 | Thanked: 191 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Oulu, Finland
Hi

I once tried to compile qt bluetooth from qt-extented but i never got it to work. I think it is not working anymore on top of the new bluez version.
http://doc.qt.nokia.com/qtextended4....othmodule.html

I think that at the moment the only way to use bluetooth is with libbluetooth3 library.