Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
marxian's Avatar
Posts: 2,448 | Thanked: 9,523 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Wigan, UK
#21
Originally Posted by pythoneye2 View Post
I tried to benchmark via sunspider 1.0.2 , but it fails at 4 or 3 with:
QNetworkReplyImpl::_q_startOperation was called more than once
You can ignore that output. For some reason, QNetworkReplyImplPrivate::_q_startOperation() is called twice when the first network request is made using QNetworkAccessManager. The function returns immediately in this case, so no harm is done:

Code:
void QNetworkReplyImplPrivate::_q_startOperation()
{
    // ensure this function is only being called once
    if (state == Working) {
        qDebug("QNetworkReplyImpl::_q_startOperation was called more than once");
        return;
    }
    state = Working;

    // note: if that method is called directly, it cannot happen that the backend is 0,
    // because we just checked via a qobject_cast that we got a http backend (see
    // QNetworkReplyImplPrivate::setup())
    if (!backend) {
        error(QNetworkReplyImpl::ProtocolUnknownError,
              QCoreApplication::translate("QNetworkReply", "Protocol \"%1\" is unknown").arg(url.scheme())); // not really true!;
        finished();
        return;
    }

#ifndef QT_NO_BEARERMANAGEMENT
    if (!backend->start()) {
        // backend failed to start because the session state is not Connected.
        // QNetworkAccessManager will call reply->backend->start() again for us when the session
        // state changes.
        state = WaitingForSession;

        QNetworkSession *session = manager->d_func()->networkSession;

        if (session) {
            Q_Q(QNetworkReplyImpl);

            QObject::connect(session, SIGNAL(error(QNetworkSession::SessionError)),
                             q, SLOT(_q_networkSessionFailed()));

            if (!session->isOpen())
                session->open();
        } else {
            qWarning("Backend is waiting for QNetworkSession to connect, but there is none!");
        }

        return;
    }
#endif

    if (state != Finished) {
        if (operation == QNetworkAccessManager::GetOperation)
            pendingNotifications.append(NotifyDownstreamReadyWrite);

        handleNotifications();
    }
}
__________________
'Men of high position are allowed, by a special act of grace, to accomodate their reasoning to the answer they need. Logic is only required in those of lesser rank.' - J K Galbraith

My website

GitHub
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to marxian For This Useful Post:
panjgoori's Avatar
Posts: 1,236 | Thanked: 1,278 times | Joined on Aug 2011 @ Balochistan
#22
tried it on my N900. Good efforts marxian. like all your other apps this one is also amazing. One question when loading pages why it triggers 100% cpu usage ? and when its done loading CPU usage goes down again. Bug or its like this ?
 
Posts: 304 | Thanked: 176 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#23
Originally Posted by pythoneye2 View Post
Great work!
I installed via apt-get and got
sh: can't create /home/user/.config/QMLBrowser searchengines.conf: Permission denied
too, i created the file and after that reinstalling worked.

I tried to benchmark via sunspider 1.0.2 , but it fails at 4 or 3 with:
QNetworkReplyImpl::_q_startOperation was called more than once

anyone has some results or the same error?
Mine just straight out crashes the tab. Is that what yours does too?
 
Posts: 1,397 | Thanked: 2,126 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Dublin, Ireland
#24
There's a small issue with the package installation:

Code:
...
-sh: can't create /home/user/.config/QMLBrowser/searchengines.conf:
Permission denied
...
The folder .config/QMLBrowser belongs to root and the file tries to be created as user.

Last edited by ivgalvez; 2014-07-29 at 14:50.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ivgalvez For This Useful Post:
marxian's Avatar
Posts: 2,448 | Thanked: 9,523 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Wigan, UK
#25
Originally Posted by ivgalvez View Post
There's a small issue with the package installation:

Code:
...
-sh: can't create /home/user/.config/QMLBrowser/searchengines.conf:
Permission denied
...
The folder .config/QMLBrowser belongs to root and the file tries to be created as user.
Yes, I see the problem now. There are two image files installed to /home/user/.config/QMLBrowser. Therefore the directory is created as root before the postinst script is run. I will fix this for the next release.
__________________
'Men of high position are allowed, by a special act of grace, to accomodate their reasoning to the answer they need. Logic is only required in those of lesser rank.' - J K Galbraith

My website

GitHub
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to marxian For This Useful Post:
marxian's Avatar
Posts: 2,448 | Thanked: 9,523 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Wigan, UK
#26
Originally Posted by panjgoori View Post
tried it on my N900. Good efforts marxian. like all your other apps this one is also amazing. One question when loading pages why it triggers 100% cpu usage ? and when its done loading CPU usage goes down again. Bug or its like this ?
CPU usage will increase during loading, because that's when there is the most activity. How many cycles are used will depend on the page that is being loaded. It should not get anywhere near 100% when browsing TMO or similar.
__________________
'Men of high position are allowed, by a special act of grace, to accomodate their reasoning to the answer they need. Logic is only required in those of lesser rank.' - J K Galbraith

My website

GitHub
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to marxian For This Useful Post:
Posts: 110 | Thanked: 362 times | Joined on May 2014
#27
Originally Posted by jessi3k3 View Post
Mine just straight out crashes the tab. Is that what yours does too?
Yes. After it "crashes" the sunspider tab, im back on an empty start tab.

Anyway javascript performance seems to be much better than stock, because google maps is useable in browser now
 
nokiabot's Avatar
Posts: 1,974 | Thanked: 1,834 times | Joined on Mar 2013 @ india
#28
Intregating qdl as download manager cutetube as video player modrana as adress opener etc via a long click or open with dailog should be good as they are incredibly good apps which serve their purpose well also it should not hamper perfomance ?
btw it is evolving as a nice microb replacement
 

The Following User Says Thank You to nokiabot For This Useful Post:
marxian's Avatar
Posts: 2,448 | Thanked: 9,523 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Wigan, UK
#29
Originally Posted by nokiabot View Post
Intregating qdl as download manager cutetube as video player modrana as adress opener etc via a long click or open with dailog should be good as they are incredibly good apps which serve their purpose well also it should not hamper perfomance ?
btw it is evolving as a nice microb replacement
You can use those applications to handle appropriate URLs by adding custom URL handlers. At the moment the handlers do not appear in the context menu, so the handler is only called if you click the link. Adding handlers to the context menu is planned for a future release.

Example handler to display YouTube videos in cuteTube:

Code:
[cuteTube]
regExp=(http(s|)://(www.|m.|)youtube.com/(v/|.+)(v=|list=|)|http://youtu.be/)
command=dbus-send --type=method_call --dest=com.maemo.cuteTube / com.maemo.cuteTube.display string:%URL%
__________________
'Men of high position are allowed, by a special act of grace, to accomodate their reasoning to the answer they need. Logic is only required in those of lesser rank.' - J K Galbraith

My website

GitHub
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to marxian For This Useful Post:
nokiabot's Avatar
Posts: 1,974 | Thanked: 1,834 times | Joined on Mar 2013 @ india
#30
[QUOTE=marxian;1434222]You can use those applications to handle appropriate URLs by adding custom URL handlers. At the moment the handlers do not appear in the context menu, so the handler is only called if you click the link. Adding handlers to the context menu is planned for a future release.
Example handler to display YouTube videos in cuteTube:
yeah yeah ! carry on finally it seems like n900 could live a bit more
 
Reply

Tags
browser, components, hildon, maemo 5, web browser

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:49.