Notices

Posts: 832 | Thanked: 75 times | Joined on Dec 2005 @ Phoenix, AZ
Okay ... It's been mentioned several dozen times that we want Kismet. I'm no developer or else I'd attempt a cross compiler myself. Here's a good place to start:

I've heard that the -51 firmware does support monitor mode/RFMON/promiscuous mode but have been unable to confirm that through any third party postings. If it IS in there, isn't a maemo port just a few hours away?

Have you tried "installing" the ARM binary that they provide? Just tar zxf the .ipk file and untar the resulting data.tar.gz file into / or /var/lib/install and see if you can run the binary. I've never used kismet, but I've been curious about it since I found out that gpsdrive works with it (although this combo appears to require mysql?).

Last edited by gnuite; 2006-02-08 at 21:52.

Posts: 832 | Thanked: 75 times | Joined on Dec 2005 @ Phoenix, AZ
gpsd works with it for tracking locations but I don't know if maemo gpsdrive will. That'd be NEAT though... to have it draw dots with hotspot labels

Posts: 50 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ Lyon, France
Originally Posted by thoughtfix
Okay ... It's been mentioned several dozen times that we want Kismet. I'm no developer or else I'd attempt a cross compiler myself. Here's a good place to start:
THe ARM binaries should be far enough.
By the way why do you need Kismet ? A simple script using iwlist scan is enough.

db

Originally Posted by thoughtfix
Monitor mode should work fine with 51-* firmwares, at least tcpdump -X output looks ok...

Originally Posted by Gourmet
By the way why do you need Kismet ? A simple script using iwlist scan is enough.
Monitor mode gives you the whole, raw frames (in particular beacons and probe response) which allows for building a much more complete network map than what a simple scan would give.