Notices

I have some exciting news! I'm pleased to announce that, after a long time in a semi-closed beta, AbiWord Internet Tablet Edition is now available in an open beta, through the Maemo Extras-Devel repository for Chinook and Diablo. I've tried it on Chinook on my N810 and it seems reasonably well functioning, haven't tried it on an N800 or tested those bugs in the list yet.

There are known issues - these are the same as with the earlier semi-closed beta because nobody has contributed fixes for them yet, and I have not had the time to work on them. They are upstream issues - please visit abisource.com and get involved upstream and help us tackle them!

Please read through all the notes here before installing!

Notes:
This does _not_ require debian or any of those other workarounds/pseudo-hacks.
This is hildonized and looks darn nice.
This is an official build, and beta quality - I am an AbiWord developer.
This is not perfect - please file bugs at http://bugzilla.abisource.com/
KNOWN MAJOR ISSUES: Blocking final release on 2007 Blocking final release on 2008 - There is no need to file bugs on these lists again.
This is not for bora (2007) yet - there's no autobuilder for Bora which means I need to have a nice little struggle with Scratchbox to build those
This does not include ODF or OOXML support yet - I will add this soon - it is just a packaging concern. I might end up replacing the current packaging with the new snazzy packaging I've been working with joshk on for Ubuntu and Debian. There is no need to file a bug about this.
This is a build of 2.6.3, the latest stable version and official tarballs. The hildonization is in the upstream source as it has been for a long time (look at ./configure ), and the packaging is on the maemo garage project SVN - I need to commit one set of changes that made it work in the autobuilder, but it works in Scratchbox on its own with no modification.