Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 97 | Thanked: 318 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Switzerland
#101
Lipstick freeze workaround

I do also encounter UI freezes from time to time (once a day seems accurate and NOT during calls). My workaround is the Powermenu2 app in combination with a launcher I created, which basically restarts the lipstick UI. So when the screen is 'on' I can simply 'long press' the power button and lipstick will restart.

Install Powermenu2 from from openrepos.net. 2.0.1.11 Taalojärvi users like me need version 1.0.7-1 (https://openrepos.net/sites/default/...-1.armv7hl.rpm)

I use the nano editor ...
Code:
devel-su pkcon install nano
Create the launcher file
Code:
nano .local/share/applications/liprestart.desktop
Content of liprestart.desktop
Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Type=Application
Name=Run LipRestart
Icon=icon-launcher-component-gallery
Exec=/home/nemo/.local/scripts/liprestart.sh
Comment=Terminal application
Create the 'scripts' directory
Code:
mkdir .local/scripts
Create a file liprestart.sh
Code:
nano .local/scripts/liprestart.sh
Content of liprestart.sh
Code:
#!/bin/bash
systemctl --user restart lipstick
Make it liprestart.sh executable
Code:
chmod +x .local/scripts/liprestart.sh
In the Powermenu2 app, you can now bind 'event3' to the launcher you created and bind the 'long press (display on)' option to 'event3'.
 

The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to minimec For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,746 | Thanked: 1,832 times | Joined on Dec 2010
#102
Originally Posted by minimec View Post
Lipstick freeze workaround

I do also encounter UI freezes from time to time (once a day seems accurate and NOT during calls). My workaround is the Powermenu2 app in combination with a launcher I created, which basically restarts the lipstick UI. So when the screen is 'on' I can simply 'long press' the power button and lipstick will restart.

Install Powermenu2 from from openrepos.net. 2.0.1.11 Taalojärvi users like me need version 1.0.7-1 (https://openrepos.net/sites/default/...-1.armv7hl.rpm)

I use the nano editor ...
Code:
devel-su pkcon install nano
Create the launcher file
Code:
nano .local/share/applications/liprestart.desktop
Content of liprestart.desktop
Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Type=Application
Name=Run LipRestart
Icon=icon-launcher-component-gallery
Exec=/home/nemo/.local/scripts/liprestart.sh
Comment=Terminal application
Create the 'scripts' directory
Code:
mkdir .local/scripts
Create a file liprestart.sh
Code:
nano .local/scripts/liprestart.sh
Content of liprestart.sh
Code:
#!/bin/bash
systemctl --user restart lipstick
Make it liprestart.sh executable
Code:
chmod +x .local/scripts/liprestart.sh
In the Powermenu2 app, you can now bind 'event3' to the launcher you created and bind the 'long press (display on)' option to 'event3'.
isn't there a restart HS option in powermenu anyways?
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to m4r0v3r For This Useful Post:
Posts: 97 | Thanked: 318 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Switzerland
#103
Originally Posted by m4r0v3r View Post
isn't there a restart HS option in powermenu anyways?
There seems to be an option, but it is bound to the 'reboot icon' of the Powermenu2 menu. I did not find a 'lipstick restart' option to bind to the power button.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to minimec For This Useful Post:
Bundyo's Avatar
Posts: 4,708 | Thanked: 4,649 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Bulgaria
#104
Now that PowerMenu was mentioned, I don't recall UI freezing before installing it (I installed it several weeks ago)... Need to test.
__________________
Technically, there are three determinate states the cat could be in: Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Bundyo For This Useful Post:
Posts: 635 | Thanked: 1,535 times | Joined on Feb 2014 @ Germany
#105
@minimec

I'm using the same method as you since a few weeks...seems like we had the same idea ...forgot to write about it here, shame on me.
I just added the vibrate option to the restart lipstick event, so that you not accidently shut down your phone.
But sometimes even this method doesn't work anymore, but i can live with that.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to mautz For This Useful Post:
Posts: 635 | Thanked: 1,535 times | Joined on Feb 2014 @ Germany
#106
Anyone had success on rooting sfdroid? I'm using Sailfish as my secondary rom with multiboot. Enabling Root in the developer options did not work and flashing supersu with twrp also doesn't give me root access in sfdroid? Any hints?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to mautz For This Useful Post:
Posts: 288 | Thanked: 1,103 times | Joined on Jul 2014
#107
Originally Posted by mautz View Post
Anyone had success on rooting sfdroid? I'm using Sailfish as my secondary rom with multiboot. Enabling Root in the developer options did not work and flashing supersu with twrp also doesn't give me root access in sfdroid? Any hints?
Can you provide a logcat log when you try accessing a root-enabled app?, and when trying to enable root in the developer options?

I'll have a look into it but after I've done the other sfdroid thing I'm working on
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to nh1402 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,746 | Thanked: 1,832 times | Joined on Dec 2010
#108
Originally Posted by minimec View Post
There seems to be an option, but it is bound to the 'reboot icon' of the Powermenu2 menu. I did not find a 'lipstick restart' option to bind to the power button.
theres a home screen restart, seems to work well.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to m4r0v3r For This Useful Post:
Posts: 635 | Thanked: 1,535 times | Joined on Feb 2014 @ Germany
#109
Originally Posted by nh1402 View Post
Can you provide a logcat log when you try accessing a root-enabled app?, and when trying to enable root in the developer options?

I'll have a look into it but after I've done the other sfdroid thing I'm working on
Here is the cat log after enabling root in developer options:
http://pasted.co/2226222d

And here after starting AdAway:
http://pasted.co/5d292d7f

Thank you.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to mautz For This Useful Post:
Posts: 288 | Thanked: 1,103 times | Joined on Jul 2014
#110
Originally Posted by mautz View Post
Here is the cat log after enabling root in developer options:
http://pasted.co/2226222d

And here after starting AdAway:
http://pasted.co/5d292d7f

Thank you.
I think I know why it's not working, I believe we've moved sfdroid from "/system/" to "/usr/libexec/sfdroid/system/", If you can make a note of which files go where via the update-binary file in the SuperSU zip, and then find the appropriate folder under "/usr/libexec/sfdroid/" and move them there then it might work.

EDIT: I think this should be the case for the latest version of sfdroid with CM12.1 base

Last edited by nh1402; 2016-09-12 at 10:45.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to nh1402 For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
hammerhead, nexus5, sailfishos, sfdroid

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:06.