Posts: 94 | Thanked: 253 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Virginia
This will be my first technical post as well as my first N900 hack! I am not a programmer or a developer I just have too much time.

One day I had an idea to set my phone's SMS alert to a random Starcraft unit selection sound. After much tweaking and trial and error I am now very pleased with my hack.

What I did was download the SC1 sound pack from teamliquid onto my device.

After much trial and error I found the location of the cached SMS alert wave files. I then created a placeholder wav file called randomsc.wav somewhere in the MyDocs directory using an existing wav file.

I then created a named pipe at /home/user/.local/share/sounds/randomsc.wav.wav (The phone encodes whatever file you select and appends a .wav to it when selecting an alert)

Code:
mkfifo /home/user/.local/share/sounds/randomsc.wav.wav
I then set the alert to my placeholder wav file (the phone sees that it is already cached and does not attempt to re-cache it)

All I had to do now was pipe random wav files into the named pipe. I created an index of the files to be randomized with

Code:
find /home/user/MyDocs/SC1S/Sounds/ | grep wav > /home/user/list.txt
/home/user/MyDocs/SC1S/Sounds/ is the location of the soundpack of the wav files to be randomized

With the index created I now just have to pipe random entries into the named pipe with:

Code:
while true; do /usr/bin/gnu/shuf /home/user/list.txt | head -n 1 | xargs cat 1>/home/user/.local/share/sounds/randomsc.wav.wav; done
What this did was loop cat random files into the named pipe randomsc.wav.wav. this also requires the coreutils-gnu package to be installed in order to use the "shuf" command. The above code will loop infinitely until the task is terminated. While that code was running any SMS I received was a random Starcraft Unit selection sound.

There are many problems with this set-up and it is not ideal. It could be improved several ways.