Posts: 1,986 | Thanked: 7,698 times | Joined on Dec 2010 @ Dayton, Ohio
As a part-time app developer, I've released a handful of open-source apps to the Maemo Extras repository. But recently, I've been expanding my efforts to other operating systems, and toying with the idea of releasing some commercial, closed-source apps.

While I am fine with the idea of releasing apps open-source, there are just some situations where you cannot operate an app for free. (Case in point, there are no free sources of weather data, so to create a weather app you need to pay someone a regular, ongoing fee.) So, are there any methods left in the Maemo world for distributing an app that requires some form of payment?

The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to Copernicus For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,974 | Thanked: 1,834 times | Joined on Mar 2013 @ india
maybe there are better options but matters most is payment system ex opera store maybe board can try.

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to nokiabot For This Useful Post:
Posts: 459 | Thanked: 669 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ The DMV
This is a good question, especially in light of Nokia Store closing down.

I don't think there are alternatives for commercial distribution of maemo/meego applications at the moment.

Maybe we can investigate how OpenPandora and other niche-y opensource platforms handle their commercial apps, and see if there are reapplications for the maemo/meego platform.

Also, Symbian AppList (sort of an analog to OpenRepos) has commercial applications. However, I believe those are still linked to Nokia Store for the purposes of payment.

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to klinglerware For This Useful Post:
Posts: 6,445 | Thanked: 20,981 times | Joined on Sep 2012 @ UK
Activation codes!

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to pichlo For This Useful Post:
Originally Posted by nokiabot View Post
maybe there are better options but matters most is payment system ex opera store maybe board can try.