Now that real SIP (not gizmo) support has come to the N800, only one thing remains for me to be head over heels happy with my N800: Encrypted VOIP.

Skype does not count, as they are using a closed, and rather suspect crypto scheme.

Phil Zimmermann, the creator of PGP, has a free software tool out called Zfone (http://zfoneproject.com/). It's super cool, and plays well with all the SIP clients out there. It's open source (in fact, he doesn't ship a linux binary, only compile your own source).. and it needs an N800 port.

I really don't know what I'm doing when it comes to porting apps.

So instead, I'll put my money where my mouth is, and offer $25 to the first person who gets zfone working on the N800. I know it's a small amount, but I'm a graduate student. Hopefully, others will chip in too.

Posts: 2,669 | Thanked: 2,555 times | Joined on Apr 2007 @ Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
I hadn't heard of this before. Great idea. I've posted a bug to the rtcomm portion of the Maemo bugzilla as a feature request to add into the new built-in SIP client on the N800. You can find the feature request here: https://bugs.maemo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1668

Last edited by zerojay; 2007-07-17 at 14:13.

As a fellow graduate student, and one powered by a few high-profile internships and two very nice job offers, I'll take a stab at this one gratis.

I'll post updates here after I reconfigure my SDK and give this a shot.

Ok! Compiled and running in scratchbox. The UI is remarkably usable: I'm going to fix the menus, add fullscreen, and bind +/- to Secure/Clear, but it realigns itself horizontally.

The daemon requires the ip_queue module, so that will have to be built.

libzrtp relies on bnlib for high math, and bnlib has no ARM assembler optimizations. I technically have the number theory and general assembler background to do this: I'm going to instead hope that GCC does a good enough job.