Active Topics

helo,
i was playing with N900, i installed debian and wireshark. It is possible to sniff from phonet0 interface but output is hard to understandmfor me, so i have couple of questions:
does n900 really sniff gsm traffic. If it does, can I see all traffic somehow (I mean kind of monitor mode for gsm) or I'm limited to traffic of my IMEI?

do you know any application suitable to read such output. If it is encrypted does any bruteforcer or other cracker exist?

Sory for possibly stupid first post but I have limited knowledge about gsm.

The Following User Says Thank You to hardkorek For This Useful Post:
I was wondering the same thing, hopefully someone will chime in...

The Following User Says Thank You to mail_e36 For This Useful Post:
Wireshark will only be able to sniff packets going to and from your phone via the data connection. I don't expect you will see any GSM specific packets, since that's all handled by the base band. If you turn off data services the interface will go down and you won't be able to attach to any interface.

You will definitely not receive packets intended for other phones.

The Following User Says Thank You to wmarone For This Useful Post:
As far as i can see there are two gsm interfaces:
gprs0 - it is data transmission
phonet0 - I'm capturing something here when gprs connection is disabled and i'm getting or reciving sms (haven't try calls)

Wireshark is not recognizing the protocol, instead it identifies it as here http://wiki.wireshark.org/SLL
At info section there are 2 types of packets:
1)Unicast to us
2)Sent by us

and of course some hexadecimal value.
I'm guessing that it can see gsm probably encrypted packets (I have read that encryption is weak somewhere)

So do you have any idea how to make those packets more human-readable?

The Following User Says Thank You to hardkorek For This Useful Post: