Posts: 7 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Planet Earth
Greetings to the Maemo community.

Short description: Should I get a Nokia N900? Or soon after I get one will it be totally dead?

Long description:
Recently, I was going through reviews of various phones. I like Nokia N900 due to the fact that its entirely running GNU/Linux and we can program in C and GTK+ (I like C and not C++).

So my concerns are:
I read that N900 will be the last device to run Maemo since MeeGo is what Nokia concentrating on.
Maemo is open source, isn't? So I expect that there will be community support.
I want to learn more and develop for the N900 (maemo, though nokia stopped developing it.) So can I expect community help?

Btw, I am a programmer. I do ActionScript 3 programming and C programming. I think that N900 is suitable device for a programmer. I want to hear the opinions of the Maemo community since you guys are already using and are experts in it.

Thank You,
Jaseem V V

Posts: 1,038 | Thanked: 1,408 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ London
Power Search

This has been answered before for many new potential owners. Lots of advice and discussion already available.

Posts: 549 | Thanked: 299 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Australian in the Philippines
Short answer, yes.
Long answer, no.

: )

Seriously though - if you enjoy programming, absolutely, get the N900, you wont be disappointed. If you want to develop applications for the N900, also definitely do this, but the platform is, and I can think of no better word for this, obsolete.

The N900 community will largely evaporate with the next tablet, not overnight, but relatively fast.