Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 915 | Thanked: 3,209 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ Germany
#21
@Halftux:
Thanks for your efforts with the btpan app! Unfortunately it doesn't change my outcome.

In Debian I have the packages installed and the N900 is paired with my PC. Then I run btpan on the N900 and see a window popping up with this line in it:
Code:
BT connection 0
After I run the test-network call on the PC this line stays unchanged and a 2nd line is added:
Code:
connected to: [MAC of my PC]
But if I then run dhclient bnep0, it still can't get an IP.


In the meantime I've tried to resurrect my old wvdial DUN connection and got a but further but wasn't totally successful.
(fyi, what I'm about to write now is a translation of a post I just wrote at debianforum.de. [1] So If your German is better than your (or my) English it's probably best to read the original.)

My /etc/wvdial.conf:
Code:
[Dialer Defaults]
Phone =
Username =
Password =
New PPPD = yes

[Dialer bt]
Modem = /dev/rfcomm0
ISDN = off
Baud = 115200
Init1 = ATZ
Init2 = ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
Init3 = AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","web.vodafone.de"
Phone = *99#
Dial Prefix =
Dial Attempts = 5
Dial Command = ATM1L3DT
Ask Password = off
Password = vodafone
Username = vodafone
Auto Reconnect = on
Abort on Busy = off
Carrier Check = on
Check Def Route = on
Abort on No Dialtone = on
Stupid Mode = off
Idle Seconds = 0
Auto DNS = on
In advance I had created /dev/rfcomm0 manually for the MAC address of my paired N900:
Code:
# rfcomm bind 0 XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX
# rfcomm -a
rfcomm0: XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX channel 1 clean
The wvdial output looks fine according to my memory:
Code:
# wvdial bt
--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.61
--> Cannot get information for serial port.
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
--> Sending: ATQ0
ATQ0
OK
--> Re-Sending: ATZ
ATZ
OK
--> Sending: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
OK
--> Sending: AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","web.vodafone.de"
AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","web.vodafone.de"
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATM1L3DT*99#
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATM1L3DT*99#
CONNECT
~[7f]}#@!}!} } }2}#}$@#}!}$}%\}"}&} }*} } g}%~
--> Carrier detected.  Waiting for prompt.
~[7f]}#@!}!} } }2}#}$@#}!}$}%\}"}&} }*} } g}%~
--> PPP negotiation detected.
--> Starting pppd at Tue Sep 17 21:40:49 2019
--> Pid of pppd: 6890
--> Using interface ppp0
--> pppd: p��
--> pppd: p��
--> pppd: p��
--> pppd: p��
--> local  IP address 100.67.154.185
--> pppd: p��
--> remote IP address 10.6.6.6
--> pppd: p��
--> primary   DNS address 139.7.30.126
--> pppd: p��
--> secondary DNS address 139.7.30.125
--> pppd: p��
I also get an IP address:
Code:
# ip a
[..]
7: ppp0: <POINTOPOINT,MULTICAST,NOARP,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UNKNOWN group default qlen 3
    link/ppp 
    inet 100.105.81.150 peer 10.6.6.6/32 scope global ppp0
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
But something seems to be wrong with the routing, because I can't even ping public IP addresses (e.g. Google's 8.8.8.8 ), let alone reach websites via DNS.

Somewhere I picked up that route might help me, but it sems I already have the correct route (10.6.6.6)?:
Code:
# route -n
Kernel-IP-Routentabelle
Ziel            Router          Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
0.0.0.0         0.0.0.0         0.0.0.0         U     1002   0        0 enp4s0
10.6.6.6        0.0.0.0         255.255.255.255 UH    0      0        0 ppp0
169.254.0.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.0.0     U     0      0        0 enp4s0
root@eee:~# route add default ppp0
Is the PC the right place to set this up at all or do I have to do this on the N900?


[1] https://debianforum.de/forum/viewtop...74706#p1217285
 

The Following User Says Thank You to sulu For This Useful Post:
Halftux's Avatar
Posts: 862 | Thanked: 2,511 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Germany
#22
Yes you need to set the default gw on your PC.
Code:
route add default gw 10.6.6.6
And check on PC your /etc/resolv.conf
should be
139.7.30.126
139.7.30.125


Can you do route -n and iptables --list on the N900 please.
What Kernel are you running?

Last edited by Halftux; 2019-09-17 at 23:54.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Halftux For This Useful Post:
Posts: 915 | Thanked: 3,209 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ Germany
#23
Originally Posted by Halftux View Post
Yes you need to set the default gw on your PC.
Code:
route add default gw 10.6.6.6
Thanks! Now I can ping public IPs and access Websites from the PC.
I seem to have a lot of interference here though. Whenever I try to transmit data via gprs, my DSL internet connection seems to hickup and gprs data transmission also doesn't always seem to work here. Then it usually helps to switch back and forth between 2.5G and 3G on the N900.
Especially if someone opens the door of my tenement, that seems to disturb gprs transmission. I also noticed that effect in the past, when I was watching TV via DVB-T.

Originally Posted by Halftux View Post
And check on PC your /etc/resolv.conf
should be
139.7.30.126
139.7.30.125
Confirmed.

Originally Posted by Halftux View Post
Can you do route -n and iptables --list on the N900 please.
Code:
# route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
0.0.0.0         0.0.0.0         0.0.0.0         U     0      0        0 gprs0
# iptables --list
Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination         

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination         

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination
That is while a working connection is set up with wvdial.

Originally Posted by Halftux View Post
What Kernel are you running?
Code:
# uname -a
Linux n900main 2.6.28.10-power53 #1 PREEMPT Wed Dec 10 13:52:39 UTC 2014 armv7l GNU/Linux
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sulu For This Useful Post:
Maemish's Avatar
Posts: 1,702 | Thanked: 4,752 times | Joined on Apr 2018 @ Helsinki, Finland.
#24
So intefresting to follow this kind of post when it doesn't really concern me. It was such a pain with the cutetube2. It is like the same difference wether your own baby cries in a public transportation or someone else's baby.
__________________
"I don't know how but I can try!" (active)

Master of not knowing (active)

For me it is possible to get lost in any case (active)

Learning to fall from high (DONE)

Learning to code with BASIC (WIP)
 
Halftux's Avatar
Posts: 862 | Thanked: 2,511 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Germany
#25
Originally Posted by sulu View Post
Thanks! Now I can ping public IPs and access Websites from the PC.
Thats great.

Originally Posted by sulu View Post
I seem to have a lot of interference here though. Whenever I try to transmit data via gprs, my DSL internet connection seems to hickup and gprs data transmission also doesn't always seem to work here. Then it usually helps to switch back and forth between 2.5G and 3G on the N900.
Especially if someone opens the door of my tenement, that seems to disturb gprs transmission. I also noticed that effect in the past, when I was watching TV via DVB-T.
Hmm sounds strange I would change the apartment. Wifi can interfere with BT. But gprs hmm to much metal and concrete.

Maybe someone runs something like this https://www.jammer-shop.com/de/der-n...torsender.html or better you should let it run for one month and I would guess all other people will move to another place which could improve your connection stability.

The other thing about bt pan. You can't get a dhcp reply because the N900 will not bring up bnep0. I found in another thread that it could be fixed by reinstalling libicd2.
 
Halftux's Avatar
Posts: 862 | Thanked: 2,511 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Germany
#26
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Halftux For This Useful Post:
Posts: 915 | Thanked: 3,209 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ Germany
#27
Originally Posted by Halftux View Post
Hmm sounds strange I would change the apartment. Wifi can interfere with BT. But gprs hmm to much metal and concrete.
Indeed, I'm surrounded by a lot of metal and concrete. I'm living in a "Plattenbau".
The rent is cheap and the location is good though, so I won't move out.

Originally Posted by Halftux View Post
The other thing about bt pan. You can't get a dhcp reply because the N900 will not bring up bnep0. I found in another thread that it could be fixed by reinstalling libicd2.
Unfortunately I can't find the package.

For the wvdial solution I've found a way to automate the routing. [1]
If I add these options to /etc/ppp/peers/wvdial, the route will be set automatically when wvdial is started:
Code:
defaultroute
replacedefaultroute

[1] https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread....80#post7836980
 

The Following User Says Thank You to sulu For This Useful Post:
Halftux's Avatar
Posts: 862 | Thanked: 2,511 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Germany
#28
Originally Posted by sulu View Post
Unfortunately I can't find the package.
libicd2_0.87+fremantle10+0m5_armel.deb

Yes this package is a device root package. But you could find them by adding the sponsored mirror by bencoh.
Code:
deb http://maemo.muarf.org/apt-mirror/mirror/downloads.maemo.nokia.com/fremantle/ssu/mr0 ./
It holds three libraries don't know if it is configuring something. Maybe do a backup before.
libicd_dbus.so.1.1.0
libicd_log.so.1.0.0
libicd_settings.so.1.0.0

Originally Posted by sulu View Post
For the wvdial solution I've found a way to automate the routing. [1]
If I add these options to /etc/ppp/peers/wvdial, the route will be set automatically when wvdial is started:
Code:
defaultroute
replacedefaultroute
Nice good to know. I in the past I did it with defaultrout. It is about 12-14 years ago. There I used wvdial and bt.
Here my old tutorial maybe it is useful when you find an old linux box.
Or find an old A780 there you could make a hack for getting edge. The good old times.

Last edited by Halftux; 2019-09-18 at 18:48.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Halftux For This Useful Post:
Community Council | Posts: 680 | Thanked: 1,227 times | Joined on Sep 2010 @ Mbabane
#29
Just to be sure, @sulu is back to using BT-DUN (I think so), or is using BT-PAN?
__________________
N900, the essence of life
 
Posts: 915 | Thanked: 3,209 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ Germany
#30
@Halftux:
Thanks for the links and hints to libicd2!
I'll try that eventually, but during the next 2 weeks I can't afford my N900 to become unusable, so I'll do that later.

@sicelo:
Yes, from what I understand, I'm back to BT-DUN.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:06.