guys im new to linux. i tried following instructions on maemo.org for installing certain apps (PIM) and it says unable to refresh list each time.

How does one install apps on this ? and what are the standard files it accepts? is it a .gz?

also can someone help me where i can find a Adobe Flash Player to play videos...i have a.gz file downloaded on my device but cant install it.

Please help.

Posts: 46 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jan 2007 @ Tampere, Finland
Originally Posted by athreya View Post
guys im new to linux. i tried following instructions on maemo.org for installing certain apps (PIM) and it says unable to refresh list each time.

How does one install apps on this ? and what are the standard files it accepts? is it a .gz?

also can someone help me where i can find a Adobe Flash Player to play videos...i have a.gz file downloaded on my device but cant install it.

Please help.
I have also problems installing GPE calendar and get the same error message when adding the repository. Could there be some problem with the repo?

Posts: 1,463 | Thanked: 81 times | Joined on Oct 2005 @ UK
Why not use the .install files?

http://www.gossamer-threads.com/lists/maemo/users/13924

Posts: 46 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Jan 2007 @ Tampere, Finland
Originally Posted by aflegg View Post
Why not use the .install files?

http://www.gossamer-threads.com/lists/maemo/users/13924
Thanks! Have to give it a try when I get home

thanks for the headsup...it still does NOT install calender though it does install todo and contacts.

is there any other way of cracking this?

I got the calendar to install fine. You have to add the repository links first though. Just click on the links below where the install files are and it will walk you through adding them.