Active Topics

I already posted this in the ITT Developers Forum, but I think this forum gets more eyeballs. I would like to hear anyone's ideas of this. Even if it's only to say "it's not feasible near term with your skill set". Or, "don't double post your threads". I can take it.

I would love to be able to use a basic GIS app on my n800. I've used Maemo Mapper a lot. Obviously, it is an amazing app and probably one of the best developed for Maemo. But I really would like to have the ability to overlay shp files onto the maps. To me this is what would make the difference between a really great mapping app (Maemo Mapper) and a true GIS.

Quantum GIS is a free open-source GIS app, with source code available here. This is the program I would like to cross compile for Maemo via Scratch Box.

Some other users have remarked on this.

I have no experience using scratch box, cross compiling, software development, or any other relevant skills. But I would like to learn. Can someone with some experience give me an idea of how feasible it would be to cross compile Qgis and how difficult it might be?

I appreciate any feed back or info.

Thanks.

It might be as simple as "make", and it might be a lot more complicated. You can't know until you try. Install the SDK exactly according to the instructions:

http://repository.maemo.org/stable/4.1.2/INSTALL.txt

Then download the source, and try to build according to the instructions. It might have some libraries missing (it will be easy to tell if one of the build steps is ./configure, as this will tell you what is missing). Perhaps some those libraries are already available, but you might need to compile some of the dependencies as well.

The Following User Says Thank You to Matan For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3,319 | Thanked: 5,610 times | Joined on Aug 2008 @ Finland