I was wondering if anybody here have played with dual-booting or chrooting any linux distro in a Samsung exynos cromebook. How was it ? I am sure that its way better than doing it in an Android phone (or even in a tablet) w/o a hwkbd and touchpad. Anything else ? I'm just about to buy that thing just to tinker with it.
Thanks

Posts: 634 | Thanked: 3,266 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Colombia
I've no experience with Chromebooks but I've been reading up a lot about it recently as I'm thinking of buying one for the sole purpose of installing a proper Linux distro.

I've never actually owned a laptop in my life (although I did use one from work for a while). I've just never liked them for a number of reasons. They're too expensive when compared to a desktop of a similar spec, they're not very portable (too big and heavy in my opinion), poor battery life, they generate too much heat, they're too noisy and there's a very limited number of options available if you don't want to pay the Windows tax. The recent Chromebooks solve all of those problems so I'm finally convinced that a laptop would be a worthwhile purchase.

What draws you to the Samsung Exynos models? The two Chromebooks I've been considering are the 4GB/1080p models of the Acer Chromebook 13 (Tegra CPU) and the Toshiba Chromebook 2 (Celeron CPU). I'm edging towards the Toshiba right now.

I found the ArchLinux wiki page quite useful for advice on installing Linux.

Maemo Leste for N950 and N9 (currently broken).
Devuan for N950 and N9.

Mobile devices with mainline Linux support - Help needed with documentation.

"Those who do not understand Unix are condemned to reinvent it, poorly." - Henry Spencer