So, I couldn't help but notice that there is a directory and link in the Maemo Extras repository for Diablo (presumably Maemo 4.1). That seems to imply that it may be coming soon, although I have no proof or even justification of that whatsoever, particularly since there are no packages in that directory yet.

As a developer, I'm interested in knowing what the plans/goals are for Diablo, so I can prepare for them in my code. As a user, I just want to know what cool stuff we're going to see. I can't find a lot of information online, however. The one thing I can gather is that it will support "firmware" upgrades via apt-get (thus not requiring a re-flash).

Anybody got the goods on Diablo? What can we expect as users? And what should I do to prepare as a developer?

The Following User Says Thank You to gnuite For This Useful Post:
I'm not a developer but I've been curious about Diablo too. GeneralAntilles mentioned in another thread that it's currently being tested on the N800 and N810 so I wonder how far along it is in it's development. Should we expect it to be released around the same time this year as OS2008 last year?

Posts: 4,708 | Thanked: 4,649 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Bulgaria
Seems to me it will be earlier than that, maybe for the summer.

http://svn.tinymail.org/trac/tinymai...l.maemo-diablo

Here's hope Modest will be the default mail client Or maybe another tinymail client?

Last edited by Bundyo; 2008-03-10 at 06:29.

The Following User Says Thank You to Bundyo For This Useful Post:
are we talking about the pc game???

Originally Posted by rnirnber View Post
are we talking about the pc game???
No! [some gibberish for fill-in]

Posts: 74 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Dec 2005 @ San Jose
Personally I will be VERY sad if they go with Modest. Right now there is no SMIME (Encryption) support in Modest. And if they switch to Modest, my company will be forced to ditch the N8xx platform.