Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
qwerty12's Avatar
Posts: 4,274 | Thanked: 5,358 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Looking at y'all and sighing
#11
Originally Posted by mrlanrat View Post
This is great. qwerty12 could you please post your .conkyrc for us?

Thanks.
Yeah, sure. I've made a few changes so it now shows you the wireless information. (For some reason, it won't get the quality info so I've deleted those lines)

Delete the MPD and Fortune bit if you don't have them installed:

# Create own window instead of using desktop (required in nautilus)
own_window no
own_window_type override
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

# Use double buffering (reduces flicker, may not work for everyone)
double_buffer no

# fiddle with window
use_spacer right

# Update interval in seconds
update_interval 3.0

# Minimum size of text area
# minimum_size 250 5

# Draw shades?
draw_shades no

# Text stuff
draw_outline no # amplifies text if yes
draw_borders no
font Nokia Sans
font
use_xft yes
xftfont Nokia Sans:pixelsize=12
uppercase no # set to yes if you want all text to be in uppercase

# Stippled borders?
stippled_borders 3

# border margins
border_margin 9

# border width
border_width 10

# Default colors and also border colors, grey90 == #e5e5e5
default_color white
default_shade_color white
default_outline_color white

own_window_colour brown
own_window_transparent yes

# Text alignment, other possible values are commented
#alignment top_left
alignment top_right
#alignment bottom_left
#alignment bottom_right

# Gap between borders of screen and text
gap_x 10
gap_y 10

# stuff after 'TEXT' will be formatted on screen

TEXT

$color
${color blue}CPU ${hr 2}$color
${color blue}Uptime:$color $uptime ${color lightgrey}- Load:$color $loadavg - ${freq}MHz
$cpubar
NAME PID CPU% MEM%
${top name 1} ${top pid 1} ${top cpu 1} ${top mem 1}
${top name 2} ${top pid 2} ${top cpu 2} ${top mem 2}
${top name 3} ${top pid 3} ${top cpu 3} ${top mem 3}
${color blue}MEMORY / DISK ${hr 2}$color
RAM: $mem/$memmax $memperc% ${membar 6}$color
Swap: $swap/$swapmax $swapperc% ${swapbar 6}$color
${color blue}Processes:$color $processes ${color grey}Running:$color $running_processes
Root: ${fs_free_perc /}% ${fs_bar 6 /}$color
Internal mmc: ${fs_free_perc /media/mmc2/}% ${fs_bar 6 /media/mmc2/}$color
${color blue}NETWORK (${addr wlan0}) ${hr 2}$color
Down:${color #8844ee} ${downspeed wlan0} k/s${color white} ${offset 70}Up:${color #22ccff} ${upspeed wlan0} k/s
Total: ${totaldown wlan0} ${alignr}Total: ${totalup wlan0}
Inbound: ${tcp_portmon 1 32767 count} Outbound: ${tcp_portmon 32768
61000 count}${alignr}Total: ${tcp_portmon 1 65535 count}
AP Name: ${wireless_essid wlan0} | Bitrate: ${wireless_bitrate wlan0}
${font Nokia Sans:style=Bold:pixelsize=12}${color #88aadd}MPD: ${alignc}$mpd_artist - $mpd_title
${color #88aadd}$mpd_bar ${color #88aadd}
${alignc}$mpd_status
${color blue}FORTUNE ${hr 2}$color
${execi 120 fortune -s | fold -w50}
Originally Posted by mrlanrat View Post
I can mirror anything!

Here ya go!
Conky 1.5.1-1

You may need to right click and click save as, my server tends to want to open it as a text file.

(if anyone knows how to fix this please tell me)

Thanks a lot! :)

I'm not an expert with webservers or anything but I think the mimetype needs to be set in the .htaccess file :/

Originally Posted by Benson View Post
Quick question: does it drag around if you drag on it?

If not, could it be useful for hiding desktop applets under? (So they don't get drug around.)

Obviously for information-only ones, not interaction, and I guess you could just display the information here... Yeah, dumb idea.
No :)

But this doesn't stop applets from moving around, you can still drag them with conky on top.

Last edited by qwerty12; 2008-05-09 at 05:59.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to qwerty12 For This Useful Post:
mrlanrat's Avatar
Posts: 292 | Thanked: 46 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#12
Thanks. I just tryed your .conkyrc with it conky flickers every 5 seconds, is there a fix for this?

Thanks again.
 
qwerty12's Avatar
Posts: 4,274 | Thanked: 5,358 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Looking at y'all and sighing
#13
Originally Posted by mrlanrat View Post
Thanks. I just tryed your code conky flickers every 5 seconds, is there a fix for this?

Thanks again.
Unfortunately, it seems to be the price of updating the information. You could make the time be more longer, but the double buffer option which reduces flickering doesn't work with matchbox/hildon-desktop

It makes the entire desktop white except for the menubars.
 
mrlanrat's Avatar
Posts: 292 | Thanked: 46 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#14
ok, next question.

Is there a command I can use to start/stop conky from running? (I want to put an entry for in in the OS2008 personal menu)
 
qwerty12's Avatar
Posts: 4,274 | Thanked: 5,358 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Looking at y'all and sighing
#15
Originally Posted by mrlanrat View Post
ok, next question.

Is there a command I can use to start/stop conky from running? (I want to put an entry for in in the OS2008 personal menu)
stopping is as simple as
killall conky
and to run, just use
Code:
conky -d or conky &
(both do the same thing)

You've reminded me actually, I can't get this to run via an init script. I'm gonna try the autohome-applet.
 
mrlanrat's Avatar
Posts: 292 | Thanked: 46 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#16
Is there one command that can do both?

possibly a script that will check and see if it is running, if it is not running it will run "conky" if it is running it will run "killall conky"?
 
qwerty12's Avatar
Posts: 4,274 | Thanked: 5,358 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Looking at y'all and sighing
#17
I think it could be done with if's etc but I'm not hot on bash scripting sorry.

Better to wait for someone like Benson who IMO does know a hell of a lot about scripting etc.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to qwerty12 For This Useful Post:
Benson's Avatar
Posts: 4,930 | Thanked: 2,272 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#18
It's a sad state when a non-developer modder can port programs right and left, but can't write this:
Code:
if [ x"`pidof conky`" == x ] ; then conky -d; else killall conky; fi

Last edited by Benson; 2008-05-09 at 12:50. Reason: Smily escaped last night, but I hunted him down...
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Benson For This Useful Post:
mrlanrat's Avatar
Posts: 292 | Thanked: 46 times | Joined on Oct 2007
#19
Works perfectly!

Thanks!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to mrlanrat For This Useful Post:
Posts: 34 | Thanked: 6 times | Joined on May 2006
#20
Originally Posted by Benson View Post
It's a sad state when a non-developer modder can port programs right and left, but can't write this:
Code:
if [ x"`pidof conky`" == x ] ; then conky -d; else killall conky; fi
Actually, I tend to think that it just means that the porting is really easy with the internet tablets, but the scripting is still the same. Honestly, not many systems can say, that it is easier to port at program to it, than to write a simple script ;-)
 
Reply

Tags
conky


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:37.