Posts: 2,173 | Thanked: 2,678 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Cornwall, UK
Ok, let me say up front I probably don't belong here. I'm not a developer, and I don't know much about linux (I'm not even sure how to pronounce it, having heard several variants!)

But I do believe in taking my questions to the people who might be able to answer them meaningfully, and I hope that's you good people.

I'm looking to replace my mobile phone, and was almost completely sold on a SE Satio. Until I spotted the n900, and did a quick "wtf?" - why had no-one suggested that?

I suspect the answers to that were along the lines that mobile phone vendors don't necessarily think too far outside the box, which had meant I'd looked at the hero, the i8910hd and the satio.

Let me say that I work my mobile phones hard. My phone doubles as email, sms, diary, shopping list, bible, library of novels, pdf and office reader, calculator, mp3 play and (particularly) camera (and probably a few things I've forgotten). It was that last which was the appeal of the satio - great looking camera, with s60 software with a massive amount of 3rd party apps.

Now, given the carl zeiss lens, I might be prepared to sacrifice the amazing se camera for a serious improvement in speed/accessibility. My problem comes down to available apps.

At the moment, the nokia site lists three apps as 'coming soon'. None of them are what I want.

So, aside from selling me the whole idea of the n900, what is the current situation as regard apps?

I read your thread about a Bible app: that's what brought me here. But frankly, looking at the stuff about using rapier, at the moment it looks like you need a fair amount of prgramming knowledge and confidence to install it. So is there going to be a Bible reader? What about, say, one for Olive Tree? I need something that will function offline as well as on - can't go online in hospital, for example.

Equally, will there be an app available for e-reader?