Hi everyone. I've been using windows mobile phones for over 4 years and i am very excited about N900.

I want to move to Maemo but I am a bit nervous too. I don;t want to spend $600 on a phone and end up not using it.

I mainly use my phone for mobile web browsing, email and VOIP. VOIP is one of the main reasons i want to move away from WM ( there is no native support yet) I hardly take photos/videos.
I almost attached to DPad on my WM phone (i know N900 hasn;t got a DPad)

I've read detailed review at http://www.mobile-review.com/review/...aemo5-en.shtml and couple of things concerned me. For example limited portrait support and comments about it's web browser.

Is there anyone here made the switch from WM to Maemo? How do you find it after WM? Or as a Maemo user that had exprience with WM phones do you advise em to switch to Maemo?

Thanks

Thanx, I don't mind hearing experiences about moving from a WM phone to Maemo 4 too.

Posts: 547 | Thanked: 1,383 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Stockholm, Sweden
Originally Posted by asidana View Post
Hi everyone. I've been using windows mobile phones for over 4 years and i am very excited about N900.

I want to move to Maemo but I am a bit nervous too. I don;t want to spend $600 on a phone and end up not using it.

I mainly use my phone for mobile web browsing, email and VOIP. VOIP is one of the main reasons i want to move away from WM ( there is no native support yet) I hardly take photos/videos.

I've read detailed review at http://www.mobile-review.com/review/...aemo5-en.shtml and couple of things concerned me. For example limited portrait support and comments about it's web browser.

Is there anyone here made the switch from WM to Maemo? How do you find it after WM? Or as a Maemo user that had exprience with WM phones do you advise em to switch to Maemo?

Thanks

I suggest reading http://my-symbian.com/other/preview_n900.php as well, and keep in mind, both of these are PREVIEWs of prototypes and NOT FINAL HW/SW.