Hey all,

After I ported cron (and crontab), I wrote a small program, which works well with cron, that automatically connects to a WIFI access point and executes any given command (see the "cron anyone?" thread in the General forums). In any case, does anyone have any further suggestions for programs to add to this list of programs, ultimately to be combined into a sort of "suite" of programs (re: the title of this post)?

Please be gentle, I am a very slow programmer

And now on to registration attempt #2 at the garage (they did not accept cron!)...

Posts: 919 | Thanked: 37 times | Joined on Aug 2006 @ /dev/null
How about a port os SVN?

*don't clobber me* What is SVN? (Subversion?)

... and I only have time for small projects

The subversion client would be a very easy port, I just can't think of any major uses for it

Posts: 1,463 | Thanked: 81 times | Joined on Oct 2005 @ UK
Originally Posted by convulted View Post
And now on to registration attempt #2 at the garage (they did not accept cron!)...
I'd be happy to see a patch in the mud-builder patch tracker, I had to reject your request to join the project as that wasn't quite the right button to press. Unfortunately I couldn't send a note with the rejection, so I guessed at sending an email to your garage account.

Thanks in advance,

Andrew

I think convulted was asking about suggestions for scripts to run at predetermined intervals from cron, not a general "what do you want ported to the internet tablet" request. I could be wrong.

I think a script that plays a given audio file at a certain time might be useful as an alarm clock or scheduling reminder. Although I wouldn't want to have to edit my crontab manually to change the time.

If there's a port of slocate for the tablets, it could run updatedb every once in a while. I have trouble finding files sometimes (and not just on the mmc card).