Notices

Hello.

I'm posting this new thread even though I've searched through http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=55079 .. Basically it doesn't make any sense to me and isn't intuitive at all. I don't even know what the posts are talking about. (Except for one poster who said to reinstall a plugin, that I can do.)

Let me explain something. I'm a newbie to the N900 and all I want to do is get ICQ working, that's it. My N900 is only 1 week old, so I haven't installed very many applications on it. You could almost say that it's a "Virgin" device, pretty close to factory standard.

I've reinstalled the "Pidgin protocols plugin for Conversations and Contacts" plugin. (Deinstalled, Rebooted and installed again.) to try and resolve the issue, but without any luck.

The symptom is that when I add the ICQ account, it immediately goes back to the list of accounts and says, "Not Signed In".

Since I'm a relatively new user, reading through the other posts doesn't make sense and I'm getting frustrated. Mainly because I'm not sure if the information being given is relevant or applicable. For example, someone saying, "Install Account Plugin 0.7" doesn't mean anything to me.

I need a step by step guide as to what I need to do to get it working, from a newbie point of view and from a virgin device point of view. I've already ran updates through the App Manager and it says I don't have any. I don't expect handholding here, just a list of steps that I can do to get it working.

I'm using Rogers in Canada. I am quite willing to provide any information required to get this working.

Thank you.

Posts: 1,217 | Thanked: 446 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Bedfordshire, UK
This is nothing to do with your being a newbie. Since the last update of that Plug-In a number of people have been unable to get the ICQ protocol to work either, I suspect either a serve change or a bug in the new release.

Posts: 96 | Thanked: 6 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Adelaide, Australia