Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 391 | Thanked: 908 times | Joined on Aug 2011 @ suncity
#21
Originally Posted by peterleinchen View Post
Try the other one and see if it still works...
In both cases it is working fine...
 
Posts: 12 | Thanked: 10 times | Joined on Aug 2015
#22
I was wondering if you have any booklet, or some offline QT installer, how can I do my apps compiled in python?
 
Halftux's Avatar
Posts: 862 | Thanked: 2,511 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Germany
#23
@ justmemory I will give up python is to complicated for me

So here are my hints:
  • check file size from downloaded data sometimes 0kb weatherdata (also some timing problem?)
  • maybe after moving files do a chmod (file permissions changes)
  • check timing download, refresh and parsing
  • check your py script with internet, without internet and switching on internet (I had something like line 167 unknown sleep...but could be my mistake)
  • when modifing the py file restart hildon-home and maybe desktop dont know

Code:
dsmetool -k /usr/bin/hildon-home
dsmetool -t /usr/bin/hildon-home
killall hildon-desktop
And now the most important and valueable advice try to avoid python
Good luck in finishing this, I really would like to see it properly running.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Halftux For This Useful Post:
Halftux's Avatar
Posts: 862 | Thanked: 2,511 times | Joined on Feb 2012 @ Germany
#24
Originally Posted by d1hacker View Post
I was wondering if you have any booklet, or some offline QT installer, how can I do my apps compiled in python?
It is not necessary compile python files.
For a booklet, about what, hmm don't know look in our wiki.
Offline QT installer you will find it somewhere in the development section search for QtSDK.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Halftux For This Useful Post:
Posts: 391 | Thanked: 908 times | Joined on Aug 2011 @ suncity
#25
Originally Posted by Halftux View Post
@ justmemory I will give up python is to complicated for me
Me too...

Originally Posted by Halftux View Post
So here are my hints:
  • check file size from downloaded data sometimes 0kb weatherdata (also some timing problem?)
  • maybe after moving files do a chmod (file permissions changes)
  • check timing download, refresh and parsing
  • check your py script with internet, without internet and switching on internet (I had something like line 167 unknown sleep...but could be my mistake)
  • when modifing the py file restart hildon-home and maybe desktop dont know

Code:
dsmetool -k /usr/bin/hildon-home
dsmetool -t /usr/bin/hildon-home
killall hildon-desktop
And now the most important and valueable advice try to avoid python
Good luck in finishing this, I really would like to see it properly running.
So many thanks for trying this! I think you were on the right path as I noticed that there is something going wrong around disconnect and connect again to wireless network; even if the script refreshes the weather data is fails to be shown (only a black box) and I have to kill hildon-home and save /usr/share/applications/hildon-home/my_widget.desktop file to get it to work again...
I checked the permissions as well; timing should be OK and everything else should be fine too as the widget works just fine when it is running from terminal as a simple python app. I just cannot figure out why.

Soooo... my solution (???) was that I wrote an init.d script and started the python script as a service/daemon. This way it is working as espected and no need for terminal... I do not know whether it is a good solution but it is working for now...

So many thanks to everyone...
 

The Following User Says Thank You to justmemory For This Useful Post:
Maemish's Avatar
Posts: 1,700 | Thanked: 4,751 times | Joined on Apr 2018 @ Helsinki, Finland.
#26
I have a friend who knows coding and whom I got interested on N900 (I pointed him one good online with all the bells and whistles for 30Eur). He has now suggested for us to do a coding project. I am interested on an automated installer to do all that stuff I need to do after reflashing (removing stuff, installing stuff, editing stuff) and it to work the same way cssu installer is working. Is there a source code for the cssu intaller somewhere?
__________________
"I don't know how but I can try!" (active)

Master of not knowing (active)

For me it is possible to get lost in any case (active)

Learning to fall from high (DONE)

Learning to code with BASIC (WIP)
 
Posts: 391 | Thanked: 908 times | Joined on Aug 2011 @ suncity
#27
Maemish,

CSSU installer on the wiki page only adds the community repo and runs the community-ssu-enabler (if I understand the method well, but please correct me). The source code of the latter is here.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to justmemory For This Useful Post:
Maemish's Avatar
Posts: 1,700 | Thanked: 4,751 times | Joined on Apr 2018 @ Helsinki, Finland.
#28
Is it so that microb can't open github pages or am I missing something?
__________________
"I don't know how but I can try!" (active)

Master of not knowing (active)

For me it is possible to get lost in any case (active)

Learning to fall from high (DONE)

Learning to code with BASIC (WIP)
 
Posts: 391 | Thanked: 908 times | Joined on Aug 2011 @ suncity
#29
No, it can't... I'm able to open github on n900 only with opera... Or try it from ED... (time consuming...)
 
Reply

Tags
development, fremantle, maemo 5, n900, src

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:47.