Active Topics

Hi!
So, I'm looking for a new phone.. and two phones got my attention - HTC HD2 and N900. Now, I love the idea of having UNIX system on my phone, but there is few questions..

1) is the community strong? Last phone I got (UIQ3 device) got pretty much screwed up by community dying.
2) how tough is it to maintain the phone? I have some experiences with Linux distros, but I don't want hardcore shell-action on my phone
3) Can I install the beta/in development apps freely?
4) How is the display, compared to HD2? Anyone knows?
5) probably the stupidest question of them all but.. I CAN use the phone in "normal" mode, as well as landscape, right?

Thanks a lot!!

Originally Posted by Aladar View Post
1) is the community strong? Last phone I got (UIQ3 device) got pretty much screwed up by community dying.
Stronger than most, and extremely active. It's been around since at least 2005 and will probably continue well beyond the transition to MeeGo.

2) how tough is it to maintain the phone? I have some experiences with Linux distros, but I don't want hardcore shell-action on my phone
Not hard so long as you play it reasonably safe.

3) Can I install the beta/in development apps freely?
Sure, if you accept that there might be some moderate shell action

Posts: 1,213 | Thanked: 356 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ California and Virginia
1) I would say it is pretty strong, I love this website!
2) Easy for most people, unless you want to hack around and install alpha stuff
3)yes
4) I think HD2 is better because it is bigger, but I have not seen either device in person

www.ezschool.com - The best online educational experience.

consider this before you jump on n900 or hd2

1. n900 is starting to becoming history due to meego devices coming out

2. hd2 is nice and it is confirmed that i would not get window 7 update on it later this year.

however i love my n900 the way it is .. does what i need but just to make ur money worth ... do research before you start $$$