Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 355 | Thanked: 598 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
#301
Sleeping icon is already used in Hildon to show suspended apps. But suspended apps significaly differ from iconified — they actually terminated by Hildon (but Hildon remembers that they was stopped automatically and restarts them when you are switching to suspended app).
So, suspended apps that decorated by Hildon with “Zz” icon are really not draining cpu (because they simply doesn't running). But that's not true for iconified apps. And I think using same metaphor can couse misleading

And I'm not sure checkered pattern will look nice...

Sorry for criticism
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mitrandir For This Useful Post:
Posts: 875 | Thanked: 918 times | Joined on Sep 2010
#302
Originally Posted by Mitrandir View Post
And I'm not sure checkered pattern will look nice...
A pixel size checkered pattern, not a checker board pattern.

b___b___b___
__w___w___w_
b___b___b___
__w___w___w_

One set (black and white), three transparent, or something like that. The alternating black and white should make it visible on solid black or white windows. Or maybe dark gray and bright gray instead of black and white.

You could also hang a little tab off the bottom corner that says "minimized". This combined with the grayed out thumbnail would let them know that the window was minimized(the obvious text) and not refreshing(the grayed out thumbnail).
 
Posts: 355 | Thanked: 598 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
#303
That's makes sense. Such pattern will make “dimming” effect. And it is easy to implement.
 
Posts: 637 | Thanked: 445 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Kaliningrad, Russia
#304
@ Kroll, please make an icon.
I can make the icon. Just tell me what icon do you want to see.

Last edited by Kroll; 2011-09-30 at 07:14.
 
Posts: 26 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Feb 2011
#305
I use rc14 and I love it. Only real (minor) bug is that sometimes when using the keyboard in MicroB I begin to enter a website address that it remembers and tries to complete, then the keyboard layout shows the desktop. So if i put in a site that starts with www.go and it suggests google the keys are gone and I have to guess where they are. Still fantastic though.
 
Posts: 355 | Thanked: 598 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
#306
Ouch. Havn't seen that before. Does this happen every time you type addredd in microb?
 
tso's Avatar
Posts: 4,783 | Thanked: 1,253 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ norway
#307
not sure if it is related to telescope, as could have sworn i have seen it before i first installed it. Basically it looks as if
the OSK goes transparent.
__________________
Be warned, posts are often line of thoughts at highway speeds...
 
Posts: 838 | Thanked: 3,384 times | Joined on Mar 2009
#308
I made test to compile Telescope (svn-185) for Maemo5, as I'm planning to use Fremantle without GLES.

It needed two compile fixes (newer compiler?) and one runtime. Then it almost works.

Works:
*show all running applications (there are no concept of minimized)
*clicking will activate selected
*clicking empty area will dismiss it
*closing applications with their close-button.


What is not working:
*Telescope has titlebar and close button (close button will crash telescope)
*If there are two xterm running, closing another will close (or crash) them both.

I compiled it with -DMAEMO4, and these are only modifications so far:

Code:
--- XTools.h    (revision 185)
+++ XTools.h    (working copy)
@@ -96,7 +96,7 @@
             Picture *picture
         );
 
-        static Atom XTools::windowType(Window window);
+        static Atom windowType(Window window);
 };
 
 #endif
(stricter rules for namespaces)

Code:
--- Mapping.cpp (revision 185)
+++ Mapping.cpp (working copy)
@@ -81,6 +81,8 @@
 //    printf("action:\t%s\n", action);
 //    printf("\n");
 
+    KeySym keySym = XStringToKeysym(keysym);
+    KeyCode keyCode = XKeysymToKeycode(dpy, keySym);
 
     Mapping *result = 0;
 
@@ -95,8 +97,6 @@
         goto finish;
     }
 
-    KeySym keySym = XStringToKeysym(keysym);
-    KeyCode keyCode = XKeysymToKeycode(dpy, keySym);
 
     if (keyCode == 0)
     {
(keySym and keyCode must be defined before 'goto')



And for running (seg faults without)
Code:
--- XTools.cpp  (revision 185)
+++ XTools.cpp  (working copy)
@@ -343,7 +343,7 @@
     if (status != Success)
         return false;
 
-    bool minimized = *property == IconicState;
+    bool minimized = false;
 
     XFree(property);
---
Running: start with
Code:
/usr/bin/telescope
Invoke with
Code:
dbus-send --type=method_call --dest=org.telescope /Telescope org.telescope.Telescope.Show string:""
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to AapoRantalainen For This Useful Post:
Posts: 355 | Thanked: 598 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
#309
Wow! Cool that you found Telescope useful for your task.
Just curious — what is the reason for using Fremantle without GLES? Other device, not N900?


Originally Posted by AapoRantalainen
*Telescope has titlebar and close button (close button will crash telescope)
If I recall correctly, Telescope tries to hide window decorations for its window using this code:
Code:
    // TeleWindow.cpp:89
    Atom windowType = XTools::_NET_WM_WINDOW_TYPE_SPLASH;
    XChangeProperty(_dpy, _win, XTools::_NET_WM_WINDOW_TYPE,
        XA_ATOM, 32, PropModeReplace,
        (const unsigned char*)&windowType, 1);
May be for your window manager this does not work. If so, you will have to find which property will hide titlebar. You can try to figure this out using, for example, `xprop` command on some non-decorated window.

Originally Posted by AapoRantalainen
*If there are two xterm running, closing another will close (or crash) them both.
Hmm... I have no idea. You can try to test this on some other multi-window apps. Is this only for xterm or for all multi-window apps too?


It would be great if when you will send me a patch with your changes when it will be ready! But if it's not hard to you, please decorate your platform-specific changes with some define to keep code portable.
I'm really happy to see that Telescope is still useful for anybody
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Mitrandir For This Useful Post:
Posts: 838 | Thanked: 3,384 times | Joined on Mar 2009
#310
Originally Posted by Mitrandir View Post
Just curious — what is the reason for using Fremantle without GLES? Other device, not N900?
Every closed source bits prevents Fremantle to compiled for another target and recompiled with better optimizations. One very nice target for Fremantle would be (of course) Nokia N8x0.

This thread is about GLES-less hildon-desktop: http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?p=1187842

Originally Posted by Mitrandir View Post
If I recall correctly, Telescope tries to hide window decorations for its window using this code:
// TeleWindow.cpp:89
[/code]
It could be this:
Code:
Atom newstate;
 newstate = XInternAtom(_dpy, "_NET_WM_STATE_FULLSCREEN", True);
 XChangeProperty(_dpy, _win,
              XInternAtom(_dpy, "_NET_WM_STATE", True),
              XA_ATOM, 32, PropModeReplace,
              (const unsigned char *) &newstate, 1);
But I haven't yet disabled hildon-desktop -task-switcher and that will cover fullscreen applications.


Originally Posted by Mitrandir View Post
Is this only for xterm or for all multi-window apps too?
Also browser gives this. Output is
Code:
X Error! [3, 3, 0]
X Error! [144, 145, 28]
X Error! [144, 145, 8]
X Error! [3, 20, 0]
X Error! [8, 145, 4]
And without catching errors:
Code:
X Error of failed request:  BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
  Major opcode of failed request:  3 (X_GetWindowAttributes)
  Resource id in failed request:  0x3400017
  Serial number of failed request:  799
  Current serial number in output stream:  800

Originally Posted by Mitrandir View Post
It would be great if when you will send me a patch with your changes when it will be ready! But if it's not hard to you, please decorate your platform-specific changes with some define to keep code portable.
I'm not yet sure how to use this with other components of hildon-desktop. I think these compile errors can be fixed for Diablo too.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:42.