Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
MohammadAG's Avatar
Posts: 2,473 | Thanked: 12,265 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Jerusalem, PS/IL
#321
Originally Posted by sakya View Post
I also noticed a higher cpu usage than the stock media player.
Play a track, stay in the now playing window, execute top: the mediaplayer uses 7-10% of the cpu (the stock media player is at 2-3%).
Leaving the player on the list window drops the % usage of the cpu to 3-4%

I don't know if this is the cause (I didn't make any test):
Code:
connect(positionTimer, SIGNAL(timeout()), mafwrenderer, SLOT(getPosition()));
Tha player is asking for the current time every second. It would be probably better to just add one second to the current position on the timer timeout and ask the renderer for the current position only when the state changes (play/pause/stop).

For the music window performance: I think that using a ListView/TableView and QAbstractListModel/QAbstractTableModel would be a lot faster than a QListWidget.

Just my two cents.

Other than that, many thanks for all the work and efforts in developing this player.
The stock player does this too, but it suspends updates when you're not on the task switcher and the media player is not the focused window.
The actual CPU usage is probably from the progress bar, rather than the updates themselves.

I've never been successful with models, that's why I don't use them.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to MohammadAG For This Useful Post:
sakya's Avatar
Posts: 533 | Thanked: 1,341 times | Joined on Dec 2010 @ Italy
#322
Originally Posted by MohammadAG View Post
The actual CPU usage is probably from the progress bar, rather than the updates themselves.
Do you mean the QSlider? I noticed that Qt uses a high cpu for QProgressbar (never understood/investigated why) but probably I never used a slider (on Maemo, on a pc obviously the "high" load isn't noticeable.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to sakya For This Useful Post:
robin92's Avatar
Posts: 476 | Thanked: 438 times | Joined on Nov 2010 @ Sweden
#323
Originally Posted by gidzzz View Post
That's strange, does it happen all the time and is it only OMP that is unresponsive? Although I didn't experience anything like that, it's possible that it's been accidentally fixed, as there were lots of changes under the hood since the last build.

I wanted to finish up a few things before posting this, but that report of unresponsiveness keeps me wondering if it still occurs. Here goes the simplified changelog (full is always here):
  • Indicator in the bottom right hides when the playlist is empty (but from time to time it appears when it shouldn't, overlapping the searchbox).
  • Instant opening of Now Playing window after the first time.
  • Song time counter goes higher than 59:59.
  • Fixed Now Playing window sometimes not displaying metadata in the list.
  • It seems rock stable. If you can crash it, make sure you let me know.
How to install? I have first release installed right now, how I do?
 
towhatend's Avatar
Posts: 230 | Thanked: 185 times | Joined on Jul 2010 @ Sweden
#324
Originally Posted by robin92 View Post
How to install? I have first release installed right now, how I do?
Do the same thing!
 
robin92's Avatar
Posts: 476 | Thanked: 438 times | Joined on Nov 2010 @ Sweden
#325
Originally Posted by towhatend View Post
Do the same thing!
sudo python mediaplayer-install.sh?
 
towhatend's Avatar
Posts: 230 | Thanked: 185 times | Joined on Jul 2010 @ Sweden
#326
Originally Posted by robin92 View Post
sudo python mediaplayer-install.sh?
Nah, itīs sh and not python.

sudo sh install_mediaplayer.sh should do it, put --desktop-file at the end if you like to have a desktopfile, too.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to towhatend For This Useful Post:
Posts: 89 | Thanked: 27 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ The Netherlands
#327
Does anyone here tried playing .pls files? I added a .pls file as a radio station. The default mediaplayer plays them fine, but when I try to play the radiostation with OMP it plays the next radiostation in the list.

Thanks anyway for this great media player!
 
Posts: 6 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#328
Originally Posted by Trestry View Post
Does anyone here tried playing .pls files? I added a .pls file as a radio station. The default mediaplayer plays them fine, but when I try to play the radiostation with OMP it plays the next radiostation in the list.

Thanks anyway for this great media player!
Leave off the end of the URL i.e. "listen.pls" it is not needed.
 
Posts: 6 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#329
Tried to add a Radio Station "http://216.66.69100:7222/" and received an invalid url error message.

Had to add the station with the default Media Player. Once it was added it played fine with the Open Media Player.
 
F2thaK's Avatar
Posts: 4,365 | Thanked: 2,467 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Australia Mate
#330
good to see someones working on this..
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to F2thaK For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
libplayback, mag 4 prez, media, open source, player, portrait mode, re-write, remake, reverse


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:28.