maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Applications (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   [Harmattan] Bash 4.1.3 with autocomplete (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=90961)

coderus 2013-08-05 13:29

[Harmattan] Bash 4.1.3 with autocomplete
 
Bash 4.1.3 with builtin bash-complete

Download: bash_4.1-3maemo60m7_armel.deb

To make bash default shell:
Code:

chsh -s /bin/bash user
for root:
Code:

chsh -s /bin/bash root

Mikkosssss 2013-08-05 16:32

Re: [Harmattan] Bash 4.1.3 with autocomplete
 
What benefits this update has. :D (autocomplete doesnt say anything to me)

rcolistete 2013-08-05 17:05

Re: [Harmattan] Bash 4.1.3 with autocomplete
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by coderus (Post 1365044)
Bash 4.1.3 with builtin bash-complete

Download: bash_4.1-3maemo60m7_armel.deb

What is the difference from "bash_4.1-3+maemo6+0m6_armel.deb" from the Harmattan SDK ? Does it depend on coreutils ?

coderus 2013-08-05 18:21

Re: [Harmattan] Bash 4.1.3 with autocomplete
 
well... if you not using bash as default shell you won't see any difference.
but if yes, and you have experience in any other linux distribution on desktop you should see lack of full autocompletion.

a fast example:
Code:

user@RM696:~$ apt- [TAB]
apt-cache            apt-config            apt-extracttemplates  apt-ftparchive        apt-key              apt-sortpkgs         
apt-cdrom            apt-desktop          apt-fast-conf        apt-get              apt-mark             
user@RM696:~$ apt-g [TAB]
user@RM696:~$ apt-get  [TAB]
autoclean        build-dep        check            dist-upgrade    dselect-upgrade  purge            source          upgrade         
autoremove      changelog        clean            download        install          remove          update         
user@RM696:~$ apt-get up [TAB]
update  upgrade 
user@RM696:~$ apt-get upd [TAB]
user@RM696:~$ apt-get update

see? can you repeat this yourself with your current shell?

Van-ess 2013-08-05 18:42

Re: [Harmattan] Bash 4.1.3 with autocomplete
 
To change sh to bash in default.
Code:

chsh -s /bin/bash
Command works after reboot.

coderus 2013-08-05 19:50

Re: [Harmattan] Bash 4.1.3 with autocomplete
 
add bash line to /etc/profile for example to load bash.
replacing sh by bash is dangerous on harmattan because of aegis

MK99 2013-08-05 21:17

Re: [Harmattan] Bash 4.1.3 with autocomplete
 
They gave me some bash-update. :p;)
http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/7438/dwhk.png

Mikkosssss 2013-08-05 21:30

Re: [Harmattan] Bash 4.1.3 with autocomplete
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MK99 (Post 1365119)
They gave me some bash-update. :p;)
http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/7438/dwhk.png

Thats because you have coderush repo...
Its same as download link above.

mika123 2013-08-05 21:35

Re: [Harmattan] Bash 4.1.3 with autocomplete
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by coderus (Post 1365110)
add bash line to /etc/profile for example to load bash.



Dumb question: how exactly??
I've tried adding /bin/bash as the last line of my .profile, but I end up with a shell where I have to Ctrl+C before I can type anything.

I'm also tried /bin/bash -l but it isn't working any better.

Schturman 2013-08-05 21:57

Re: [Harmattan] Bash 4.1.3 with autocomplete
 
just open /etc/profile file and add /bin/bash as the last line. Save this file -> open your terminal and see the differences.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:55.

vBulletin® Version 3.8.8