maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   Applications (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   [M5] [Announce] Character Map for Maemo (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=93169)

pichlo 2014-05-10 23:43

[Announce] Character Map for Maemo

1 Attachment(s)
Right from the start I have been missing a character map application for the N900. There is a very useful app scv-reader to modify the on-screan keyboard layout, but redefining the layout every time I wanted to enter a random non-ASCII character was a bit of a drag. I didn't want to modify anything, I just wanted to quickly look up the Unicode for a micro sign or whatnot, and possibly copy it to the clipboard.

So I ended up writing one myself. The source code is, perhaps not surprisingly, heavily based on scv-reader. It has been a bit of a learning exercise for me and a first in many ways. I have been writing software for a living for 20+ years but, unbelievable as it may sound, I did not know anything about GTK programming or how to make Debian packages before starting on this one. So please beware of bugs :)

The package was written and built entirely on the device. The PC was used only for uploading to Garage and for writing this announce post. Most of the control files (Makefile, Debian rules etc) were written by hand since some of the help tools did not quite work as expected. So, again, watch out for those bugs :)

FAQ

Q: How does it look?
A: Like this:
Attachment 35168

Q: What do all those buttons do?
A: There is no manual as such. At least not yet. But it is easy to figure it out. Through the menu, you can select the code page that gets displayed in the main part of the screen. The details of the selected character are displayed on the right, Tapping on the character copies it to the edit box. "Copy" copies the contents of the edit box to the clipboard and "Clear" wipes the edit box. You can also edit the box yourself.

Q: Is there a portrait support?