maemo.org - Talk

maemo.org - Talk (https://talk.maemo.org/index.php)
-   General (https://talk.maemo.org/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Install Maemo on other, non-Nokia device: phone, tablet, MID, netbook, etc.? (https://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=31806)

sleepr 2009-09-03 14:39

Install Maemo on other, non-Nokia device: phone, tablet, MID, netbook, etc.?

hello!
have anyone tried booting up maemo on the linux based HTC magic? it runs android today so it shouldnt be so hard to boot up maemo, should it? im not a developer myself, so im really asking you skilled guys out there if it would be possible and if you want to give it a try :)

zerojay 2009-09-03 14:51

Re: Running Maemo on HTC Magic

Quote:

Originally Posted by sleepr (Post 320858)
hello!
have anyone tried booting up maemo on the linux based HTC magic? it runs android today so it shouldnt be so hard to boot up maemo, should it? im not a developer myself, so im really asking you skilled guys out there if it would be possible and if you want to give it a try :)

Sorry, that's not going to happen.

ysss 2009-09-03 14:53

Re: Running Maemo on HTC Magic

HTC Hero = a new device with last year's spec.

lukasound 2009-09-17 18:39

Install Maemo on Non-Nokia Phone?

Samsung i8910 has practically the same hardware as Nokia N900...

Could it ever be possible to install Maemo on it? Maybe some skilled programmers could port it to Samsung, i guess it can't be that hard - it has the same processors as Nokia...

Or is it a stupid question? I had Nokia 5800 for 9 months now, and now i have the Samsung 8910, and dislike Symbian :)

lukasound 2009-09-18 18:01

Re: Maemo on Samsung 8910?

Is this question really that stupid or nobody knows?

davidgro 2009-09-18 18:14

Re: Maemo on Samsung 8910?

Probably no one knows. I think it would be Mer that's ported anyway, and I also think it depends less on the specs than on how locked-down the firmware is.

kdrozd 2009-10-21 15:00

Maemo5 /6 on Iphone 3GS